Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-26-2011, 11:00 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Bonded for a Particular Job?

I am not an electrician but am planning on having several thousand dollars (maybe more) of electrical work done on my house. I found an electrician on Angie's list who got great reviews but he is not bonded. What does this mean to me that he is not bonded? Should I go with another electrician who is bonded?

I asked him if he could be bonded for this particular job and how much it would cost and he said he didn't know as he had not done it before.

Thanks for the opinions.

fikio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:40 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,004

You should look around for another electrician. Get two more bids. He may be just fine, but if he is licensed and insured why is he not bonded? If he is not licensed and insured I would say a big NO thanks.
Bonding is in case he cannot finish the job for some reason. Any reason. It is like insurance in case he bails, dies or just cannot be located and the job is not complete.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:53 AM   #3

Thanks for the response. I got 2 other bids and his was by far the lowest which is why I wanted to go with him. So the bonding is only for completion of the job, it doesn't mean anything in case there are future problems related to the work?
Old 11-26-2011, 11:56 AM   #4
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 2,128

Call a legitimate electrical service company and quit screwing around with places like Angie's List, ask for a "Certificate of Insurnace" before they do anything. Not all states require bonds especially on $200 residential jobs. You are making way to much of this. If you want to find a legitimate electrician then use legitimate sources to locate them. The Yellow Pages are free and a lot more reliable.
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote