Blown Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2010, 09:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

blown outlet


I have an outlet in my basement that was working fine until this morning. I added a power strip so I could move my computer desk downstairs and it blew when I plugged in all my computer parts. I checked the circuit breakers (all fine) and then bought and installed a new outlet. Nothing. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

BigBill73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 10:27 PM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

blown outlet


Are you sure the breaker didn't trip? To turn on a tripped breaker, you often have to switch it OFF then ON.

Advertisement

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 10:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

blown outlet


Is there a GFCI outlet upsteam of this outlet - and it's tripped? Could be in a bathroom, kitchen, etc.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:50 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

blown outlet


I'm sure the breakers are good. I switched all of them off-on just to be sure... freaked my kids out while they were watching TV. Thanks.
BigBill73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:51 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

blown outlet


I'll check the GCFI possibility later today. Thanks.
BigBill73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:00 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,352
Rewards Points: 3,498
Blog Entries: 4
Default

blown outlet


Please describe what you mean by "blew". Did sparks come out of it or did it just stop working? If it just stopped working then there could be a loose connection on the receptacle or anywhere between the receptalce and the panel. The problem could even be in a working device on the same circuit.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
basement , electrical , outlet , power outage


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
What did i do wrong? - Outlet install trips breaker nymex Electrical 22 05-07-2009 03:44 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 10:05 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts