Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-04-2009, 08:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles


My house is currently wired with aluminum wiring and I am trying to update all the receptacles and switches to CO/ALR ones. So far, I have replaced the receptacles in my kitchen and they are working, but none of my switches are working. There seems to be one fuse blowing continuously when we turn the power back on. I have since removed all the switches that I replaced, kept the wires open, and turned my power back on. The fuse still continues to blow. I've tested the receptacles that I have replaced, and they are all working. I don't understand what the problem is. Could one of the working receptacles be causing the fuse to blow still ? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

marc_easy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 09:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles


There is a possibility that you mistakenly installed a light switch on a receptacle. Or, if the fuse blows when you put on more than one switch, it's possible that you connected a switch (somewhere in the circuit) on a HOT and NEUTRAL wire! Diagnosing electrical problems takes good old fashioned, step by step testing. There is no magical shortcut, and no assumptions will help!!!Don't drink and Drive!!!

spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 09:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by marc_easy View Post
My house is currently wired with aluminum wiring and I am trying to update all the receptacles and switches to CO/ALR ones. So far, I have replaced the receptacles in my kitchen and they are working, but none of my switches are working. There seems to be one fuse blowing continuously when we turn the power back on. I have since removed all the switches that I replaced, kept the wires open, and turned my power back on. The fuse still continues to blow. I've tested the receptacles that I have replaced, and they are all working. I don't understand what the problem is. Could one of the working receptacles be causing the fuse to blow still ? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
One other possible reason could be that in a 4-wire "Daisy-Chain connected box of a receptacle, you mixed up some wires, and placed both, the HOT and NEUTRAL wires on the same TERMINAL, albeit on different screws!!!Don't Drink and Drive!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 04:03 PM   #4
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,502
Default

Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles


marc easy, I guess that you are finding that Electrical is not so easy
Finding the short would have been easier if you did not replace the switches & receptacles then turn the power back on to find you had a short.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc_easy View Post
....Could one of the working receptacles be causing the fuse to blow still ?
Not likely, concentrate on the boxes that contain the switches. Look first at the box closest to the Fuse panel.





Good advice from spark plug

.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 06:17 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles


Electrical is easy, really.
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 08:18 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles


spot on mag. breid
breid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 09:04 PM   #7
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Default

Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles


There could be a nick in the insulation in one of the switch boxs.

Last edited by jbberns; 07-05-2009 at 09:07 PM.
jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 10:12 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbberns View Post
[There could be a nick in the insulation in one of the switch boxs].
You're 100% right. But we assume that the visual inspection was ALREADY done! And the problem persists!!!Don't Drink and Drive!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 10:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnettica View Post
Electrical is easy, really.
Like some POTENTIAL customer says. "I could have done thaaat!" Oh. It took you all of five minutes. And you're charging SOOO much!!!
That's why I said POTENTIAL customer. Because when I hear any of those phrases, I don't touch that person with a Ten Foot Pole!Don't Drink and Drive!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 10:24 PM   #10
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Default

Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles


Just thought I would mention it. I came after a guy one time that used a razor knife to score the outer jacket of 12/3. Problem was he scored it all the way to the copper. It was very hard to see at first.

jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Replacing switches turning into nightmare. RyanD Electrical 19 05-26-2009 06:19 PM
receptacles have no power, im at a loss reds_21 Electrical 3 10-05-2008 10:49 AM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 11:16 AM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 09:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.