Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 04:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

Blown fuses....


Today i was over at my parents house and my dad told me that 3 different fuses blew over the last 2 days. All on completely different circuits, bedroom, washing machine and the 3rd a basement TV.
The house has 60 amp service and is about 60 years old.
Any info greatly appreciated!
Thanks!

roar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: new mexico
Posts: 344
Default

Blown fuses....


fuses or Cricut breakers? if fuses they could just be old, and the same for the circut breakers. Are the rooms and circuts that blew close together, might the wiring be running the same wall, or area of the attic or craw space?

redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to redman88 For This Useful Post:
roar24 (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 07:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Blown fuses....


They are fuses like i said the house is 60 years old.
2 of them probably would be fed from the same area, but the washing machine is a fair way away.
thanks.....
roar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:46 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Blown fuses....


Moving a vacuum cleaner around?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 599
Default

Blown fuses....


I'm not a sparky but what if there had been a temporary local voltage drop from the main supply..would that cause over amperage and fuses to blow OR ..just coincidence with old fuses that were of similar old age and just wore out

loose fuses..tighten all..

keep an eye on the situation..if trouble persists check further..
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,375
Default

Blown fuses....


Could be a combination of two factors !
1 - small service 60a is not much, so its probably pushed to its limits.
2 - old fuses running near there limits.

Check and replace ALL fuses with new ones.
Check what sorts of loads the system is called upon to deliever,
is a 60a service enough ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 07:14 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

Blown fuses....


What was being used at the time a fuse blew?

An individual branch circuit fuse is no more likely to blow simply because the complete service (60 amps or so) is inadequate for the house.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 10-07-2012 at 07:17 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:18 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,375
Default

Blown fuses....


Since a lot of houses have no trouble maxing out a 100 panel,
Then maxing out a 60a panel would be quite easy !
Most people dont think about there houses electrical capacity
when they buy the latest gizmo /creature comfort.
Then think that if there is an outlet, they can just plug it in.
Point is, with a 60a service you could easy max it out
without even realising it. and if it is running close to its limits
then this would explain the fuses poping from time to time.
Power moniters are cheap and readily available,
perhaps using one will soon tell just how much they are using.
It could be more than you expect !

If fuses are poping the two most likely causes are
1 - a fault / short somewhere.
2 - the fuses are running at maximum capacity,
which is never good.

My guess is number - 2.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:26 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Blown fuses....


The size of the service has nothing to do with the fuses for branch circuits blowing.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:54 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,375
Default

Blown fuses....


I think you missed my main point !
Overloading is the most likely problem.
And if fuses are run at maximum capacity
then they will frequently fail.
So if you are running 10a continueously thru
a 10a fuse it will fail,
even thou the circuits wiring might not be overloaded.
I beleive 80% is the standard used.
So the fuses are not adequate for the loads used.

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blown 5 amp fuse on Carrier System chalkstar HVAC 9 07-22-2014 11:18 PM
Heat pump wiring and fuses icandoitmyself1 HVAC 13 06-01-2014 04:15 AM
Replacing 240V fuses for dryer Mark77 Electrical 14 01-10-2012 09:06 PM
Blown in insulation question? El Gringo Insulation 2 11-10-2011 11:20 PM
Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles marc_easy Electrical 9 07-05-2009 10:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.