Blown Fuse.........help! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 06:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via AIM to Meg017 Send a message via Yahoo to Meg017
Lightbulb

Blown fuse.........help!


Ok.............so I am not an idiot and I do know how to actually replace a blown fuse. My problem is that the fuse keeps blowing as soon as I replace it. My question is should I contact an electrician to replace the back part or is it an easy process? I do not want to get in over my head.

Thanks for all of your input. It looks like I will be calling an electrician in the morning. Thanks again for your help.

Advertisement


Last edited by Meg017; 11-09-2008 at 07:29 PM.
Meg017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 06:44 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


This is a more SERIOUS issue you may have here. What did you plug in that caused it to blow, what do you think caused it to blow? Unplug everything on that fuse and try again. If you don't have any success than you may need to call an electrician.

Advertisement

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 06:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


I see the weather is quite nippy in your area today (32/0).

Do you have any electric space heaters plugged in? New electric space heater? New appliances?
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 06:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via AIM to Meg017 Send a message via Yahoo to Meg017
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


We have unplugged everything in the room that is effected. We have turned off all the light swithches. I am at a loss. I know the back of where the fuse screws in needs to be replaced. I just dont want to do it if it is to complicated.

Last edited by Meg017; 11-09-2008 at 06:54 PM.
Meg017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 06:53 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via AIM to Meg017 Send a message via Yahoo to Meg017
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


Nothing new was plugged in. We are nots ure what actually caused it to blow. No space heaters or new appliances. It is in my daughters room. She doesnt even have a television in there.
Meg017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:01 PM   #6
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Meg017 View Post
Ok.............so I am not an idiot and I do know how to actually replace a blown fuse. My problem is that the fuse keeps blowing as soon as I replace it. My question is should I contact an electrician to replace the back part or is it an easy process? I do not want to get in over my head.
Here's the thing: A FUSE BLOWS FOR A REASON! The problem isn't the fuse, and it isn't likely the fuse socket. The fuse socket may now be scorched in the back because of the short, but it still isn't likely the problem. You have developed a short somewhere. What is does this circuit power? Start opening switches and receptacles until you discover the problem.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:02 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via AIM to Meg017 Send a message via Yahoo to Meg017
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


Does anyone know how much it would run to update the fuse box itself. I would like to replace the box itself.
Meg017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:06 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via AIM to Meg017 Send a message via Yahoo to Meg017
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


Ok. The fuse socket now needs to be replced also. Is that an easy task? I think I may be in over my head.
Meg017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:10 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via AIM to Meg017 Send a message via Yahoo to Meg017
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


The fuse is to my daughters room that has an alarm clock plugged in and that is it. If I took off the covers to the sockets how would I be able to tell where the short is?
Meg017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:11 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


Call someone.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:13 PM   #11
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Meg017 View Post
Does anyone know how much it would run to update the fuse box itself. I would like to replace the box itself.
Depends on what all has to be done. Usually this requires changing the entire service. I replaced a service outside and in on an old house two weeks ago that cost $2600. But those are northwest Alabama prices. Your milage may vary. Considerably.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:17 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via AIM to Meg017 Send a message via Yahoo to Meg017
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


Holy cow!!!!!!!!!!! That is way out of my price range!!!!
Meg017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:18 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via AIM to Meg017 Send a message via Yahoo to Meg017
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


It is looking like that is the best answer. I can replacethermostats and ceiling fans, but this seems to be out of my comfort zone.
Meg017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:23 PM   #14
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Meg017 View Post
The fuse is to my daughters room that has an alarm clock plugged in and that is it. If I took off the covers to the sockets how would I be able to tell where the short is?
You probably won't be able to find a replacement part for that fuse panel. No one would stock such a thing anymore. Do you have an extra socket that isn't being used? Worse comes to worse, you may have to tie that circuit on with another room. After finding the problem, of course.

I would start by pulling all the switches and receptacles out and looking for obvious signs of trouble, like broken parts or burn marks in the boxes. The act of removing the devices may clear the short. You should really have a meter to check for continuity. If nothing is turned on or plugged in, then you should read nothing between the hot and neutral wires in the fuse box. Also, the power may come into the light in the room first, then go everywhere else. Overbaked insulation may have failed, causing the problem, so look there too. But, if you are uncomfortable with these kinds of repairs, call an electrician. NOT a handyman. NOT an HVAC guy. NOT a mechanic. A REAL electrician.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:28 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via AIM to Meg017 Send a message via Yahoo to Meg017
Default

Blown fuse.........help!


Electrician it is! Thanks for your input. I thought if it was a easy as replacing the socket I would be able to handle it. Thanks again. I will be calling an ELECTRICIAN in the morning.

Advertisement

Meg017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse Boxes For Showers Petrena Electrical 3 09-13-2008 02:36 AM
Carrier 8000TS Control Bd Fuse blows EAP HVAC 2 08-28-2008 09:07 PM
Problems with new fuse box for a dryer. needsomehelp Electrical 12 04-11-2008 12:20 AM
Blown fuse in Control Panel of Carrier Heater jacksup HVAC 3 02-26-2008 06:02 PM
Red & Black wire from light = blown fuse leedslad Electrical 3 08-28-2006 07:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts