Black White And Red - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2008, 07:35 PM   #1
CTH
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Black White and Red


I have wiring that I'm trying to connect to an outlet that has a hot black, hot red, and neutral white. My outlet screws are gold, silver and green. What goes where? I'm used to black, white, and copper. I would prefer this to be a grounded outlet - is that a possibility?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Advertisement

CTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 07:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Black White and Red


Is this outlet(either top or bottom) controlled by a wall switch?

Advertisement

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 07:53 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Black White and Red


Did you remove a recpetacle that was there previously? Is the tab between to 2 brass screws missing?

Red can be used as a switched hot or to feed a switch.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 07:53 PM   #4
CTH
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Black White and Red


Yes it is connected to a wall switch. I removed a light that was there several years ago and capped the wires until I finished a lengthy remodel, and I'm finally getting back to the outdoor lighting. I don't remember the colors of the old light's wires. The outlet is new, so the bridge (tab) is still in place on the outlet.

Last edited by CTH; 04-01-2008 at 07:56 PM.
CTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 09:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Black White and Red


White: silver screw
Black: Brass screw(top or bottom depending on which one you want switched)
Red: Other brass screw.
Bare: ground
Break tab between the two brass screws.
If you have a volt meter, I would test before you hook it up though.

http://www.electrical-online.com/wir...doutletsp1.htm

Last edited by jerryh3; 04-01-2008 at 09:44 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 11:04 PM   #6
CTH
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Black White and Red


Thanks for your help - but one problem - there's no bare wire to use for the ground. Does this mean that I just won't be able to use any electrical eqipment that needs a three prong outlet?
CTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 12:46 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Black White and Red


Quote:
Does this mean that I just won't be able to use any electrical eqipment that needs a three prong outlet?
You cannot legally install a 3 pronged outlet on a non grounded system.

The ground pin will go nowhere and will not provide your "safety" ground.

One option is to install a GFCI outlet, but it will not be 1/2 switched and you would cap off the red wire. Also they are tough to stuff into old small boxes.

Another option would be to install a GFCI breaker to protect the entire circuit. Then you could install the 3 hole outlet.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts