Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2009, 02:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Cool

Black/White/Orange wire...what to do with orange


Painters removed old wall mounted outdoor light fixture. i am replacing with a new one. In the box, I have black, white, and orange wire. Inside the house I have a timer switch that was working perfectly before the removal of old fixture. I know the black and white wires are matched against the NEW fixture, Does the Orange wire wrap with the black???

I have a total of three of these boxes on outdoor wall separated about 25 feet apart. Suggestions? Thanks

Wingingit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 08:45 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Black/White/Orange wire...what to do with orange


Are you sure its not a black, white and a red? Take the switch.timer apart inside and see what you have going on there. You should have a bare copper wire for a ground if it is a newer wire.

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:06 PM   #3
Remodeler
 
adpanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Black/White/Orange wire...what to do with orange


When was your house built? Is there also a bare copper or green sheathed wire in there too? Do you know if your house has BX cable (the cable is sheathed in metal, instead of rubber or plastic) Do all of the wires in the box come in as part of the same cable?
adpanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:20 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Black/White/Orange wire...what to do with orange


Does the new fixture have a motion sensor or photocell built-in?

Or is there a dual rating (120/277 Volts)?
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Black/White/Orange wire...what to do with orange


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Are you sure its not a black, white and a red? Take the switch.timer apart inside and see what you have going on there. You should have a bare copper wire for a ground if it is a newer wire.
Thanks, worked in out thru process of elimination. All is well, appreciate the response.
Wingingit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:29 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Black/White/Orange wire...what to do with orange


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Does the new fixture have a motion sensor or photocell built-in?

Or is there a dual rating (120/277 Volts)?
THANKS, worked in out thru process of elimination. No montion sensor, it was the timer on switch that was broken. Thanks, appreciate the response,
Wingingit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:30 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Black/White/Orange wire...what to do with orange


Quote:
Originally Posted by adpanko View Post
When was your house built? Is there also a bare copper or green sheathed wire in there too? Do you know if your house has BX cable (the cable is sheathed in metal, instead of rubber or plastic) Do all of the wires in the box come in as part of the same cable?
Thanks, worked it out thru process of elimination...appreciate the response.
Wingingit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 10:46 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Black/White/Orange wire...what to do with orange


I would have bet it was a bypass wire. So you could turn on the light manually.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 12:08 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Black/White/Orange wire...what to do with orange


Just an FYI, there is some older NM cable that is white/black/orange/bare, I have some of it in my house for all the 3 wire circuits. One of the 14/3 cables I have that runs to a j-box where it splits out to the two separate circuits powering upstairs bedrooms and hallway lights has an insulated green ground wire. This is the only one that I have found in my house that has the insualted ground, all the others are bare.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 12:10 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Black/White/Orange wire...what to do with orange


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Just an FYI, there is some older NM cable that is white/black/orange/bare, I have some of it in my house for all the 3 wire circuits. One of the 14/3 cables I have that runs to a j-box where it splits out to the two separate circuits powering upstairs bedrooms and hallway lights has an insulated green ground wire. This is the only one that I have found in my house that has the insualted ground, all the others are bare.
It's very possible they used 3 conductor cable, even though they did not need it. I still think it was intended for a bypass. Now that installer was thinking ahead. It makes sense if you want to turn on the light when the light is not ready to come on itself. Both conductors need to be on the same circuit or "POW".

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 04:13 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.