Is Black Tape REQUIRED? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2010, 07:50 PM   #16
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tomstruble View Post
i always see it on old work with the 2 fuzzy black wires and a glass wire nut
glass wire nuts?

I have seen ceramic wire nuts. They are for high temp conditions. The last thing you would want to use with them is tape? it would melt.

Before wire nuts, joints used to be soldered and then taped.

While the wire nuts currently used are pretty decent, I suppose their might have been time in life where the nuts were not so dependable so the guys taped them on to be sure they wouldn't come off. The problem with that is the tape really doesn't keep them tight so the joint would have come loose anyway.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 07:53 PM   #17
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


must be ceramic then nap....which is a type of ....
Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 08:14 PM   #18
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tomstruble View Post
must be ceramic then nap....which is a type of ....
glass is a type of ceramic but ceramics are not a type of glass.

even with that, most lay people do not consider glass to be a ceramic. Most common ceramics have a crystalline structure while glass has an amorphous structure.

when you say glass, most people think clear or at least opaque. Common ceramics are not translucent nor opaque.

common ceramics are also formed by molding a slurry of water and the ceramic material and are then fired to harden them. Glass is created simply by using heat to melt the ingredients into a semi-solid which is them molded and allowed to cool.

and yes, I am sure you are aware of all of this but if I must rebut a statement, this is what you get.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
Tom Struble (09-20-2010)
Old 09-19-2010, 08:20 PM   #19
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


*sigh* all right you two......

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 10:23 PM   #20
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
*sigh* all right you two......

DM
I'm just playing. Hopefully tom took it that way. He's one of the good guys, like you DM.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
Tom Struble (09-20-2010)
Old 09-19-2010, 11:34 PM   #21
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


There is not very many spot I will use the black tape on wirenuts that is pretty rare for me do it only one of few locations I will use is on the motour peckerhead { motour junction box } and one or two other locations if have high viberation situation.

A nick on the conductor insulationg I may use it to fix up otherwise use the judgement call on that one.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 12:17 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Just remember...the black tape is for hots
You need to use white tape for neutrals
And green tape for grounds
Don't mix them up
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 01:51 AM   #23
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Just remember...the black tape is for hots
You need to use white tape for neutrals
And green tape for grounds
Don't mix them up
Yeah but some peoples like me I have quite few diffrent tape colours so I can able use any of them as long I know which one is correct.

Hot is any colour unless listed below which it must used.

Netrual typically white or grey

Ground Green tape or green with yellow strip tape.

That is for North American colours the European have diffrent colour foramt.

Oh yeah there is nice gotcha if this in a cable yeah it can remarked any size but indivual conductors no unless it is larger than 16mm˛ { #6 AWG } then you can do it.

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 11:10 AM   #24
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Just remember...the black tape is for hots
You need to use white tape for neutrals
And green tape for grounds
Don't mix them up
Just use clear tape and you don't have to worry about it.
__________________
Honey, does this tool belt make me look FAT?
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 11:25 AM   #25
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Just to be safe, I use one full roll of electrical tape on every wire nut.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 11:30 AM   #26
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Just remember...the black tape is for hots
You need to use white tape for neutrals
And green tape for grounds
Don't mix them up
Here in Canada, we use hockey tape. Comes in all colors.

j/k but it would probably work well. LOL
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 02:29 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


OK...I'll bite. Is there some functional problem with using tape? While I can see that it takes a little time to install, and can make later repairs and upgrades a bit more time consuming, it is also a small level of protection against foreign objects entering the wire nut. While I probably would not want to pay an electrician for the time to add the tape, I count this as one area where DIY might be an advantage...we are willing to spend extraordinary amounts of time for marginal improvements.

What am I missing here?
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 02:33 PM   #28
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


There's nothing wrong with taping the joints...it doesn't make things LESS safe. It's just completely unnecessary. If the wire nut is installed correctly, it will NOT come off. Meaning the tape is useless.

In order for the tape to actually provide any function, the wirenut would have to be incorrectly installed, in which case, it's going to fall off when the tape gets old and brittle anyway.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 02:34 PM   #29
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oberkc View Post

What am I missing here?
I don't see it as providing any benefits and I hate the goo it leaves if you ever have to get back into that joint.

As to anything falling into the nut; you aren't supposed to have foreign materials in the junction box to begin. So, if you follow that rule, you don't have to worry about the tape being needed.

any claim of a benefit can be countered with:

make the joint properly and you will not need the tape
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 02:52 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
you aren't supposed to have foreign materials in the junction box to begin
Yeah, right! I wish all the electricians who wired my house followed that rule! I am amazed at amount of crap in EVERY box I opened at my house. I just figured that vacuuming electrical boxes was another area that a DIYer was willing to do but not worth the time for the professional electrician.

Quote:
It's just completely unnecessary.
Some people like belts and suspenders. Just in case.

Thanks for the response.

Advertisement

oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 14/3 with black and red hot = code? hellothere123 Electrical 7 09-20-2010 10:20 AM
Paint problems....or just problems with the painter... deanswife Painting 5 07-30-2010 09:36 AM
Roof heat tape installation options daroepke Roofing/Siding 0 06-25-2010 01:36 PM
Which flashing tape for Chimney flashing? gante Building & Construction 9 03-19-2009 11:27 AM
Drywall Mudding - Tape Lifting Drywall_Dummy Building & Construction 5 09-06-2005 12:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts