Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2010, 09:56 AM   #1
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Is black tape REQUIRED or is it just "suggested" on wire nuts inside junction boxes?

Thanks!

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 10:11 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Never required OR suggested.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (09-19-2010)
Old 09-19-2010, 10:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
Is black tape REQUIRED or is it just "suggested" on wire nuts inside junction boxes?

Thanks!

DM
Where do these myths come from?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 10:32 AM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Good, Thanks Petey.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 10:32 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Where do these myths come from?
DIY Forums!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
J. V. (09-20-2010)
Old 09-19-2010, 10:37 AM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Yup, for example: Wiring 4 lights to 1 switch...Please help!

Posts #4 and #6.....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 10:42 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
Yup, for example: Wiring 4 lights to 1 switch...Please help!

Posts #4 and #6.....

DM
Yup. Typical non-professional giving advice in all sorts of forums.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 10:44 AM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


I've always done it, and I've always wrapped black tape around the screws on outlets and switches as well!
Overkill or basic paranoia? LOL

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 10:48 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Yes.

There is nothing inherently wrong with doing it, it's just wrapping wire nuts screams handyman/DIY.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 12:40 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,148
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


The only time i ever tape my wirenuts is when useing a big wire nut with big wire(like #8's). Probably don't have to but the few times i run into this situation i have done it.

Tape on any other joint screams DIY like other people have said.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 12:47 PM   #11
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


I've seen electricians use tape on the screws but not wire nuts. The screws is mostly a safety thing. If you are in middle of renovations and the plates are all off nothing like getting a ZING when reaching for that light switch in the dark and your fingers find themseles between the two screws.

I will sometimes tape the wires together before they enter the wirenut, as to hold them together better for when I push the wires in the box. Normally if it's like 4 wires on one nut, where it becomes harder to work with.

Now speaking of black tape, is it required to wrap the wire when it enters a box, as to protect it from the edges? I've seen this done a lot too. I guess if you're really anal you could use the same clips that are used when a wire enters the electrical panel.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 12:52 PM   #12
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


ALL of my wires in and out of ALL of my junction boxes, fixture boxes, etc. have cable clamps.
I DO believe it's a requirement, but as always, I may not know the difference between my posterior and a spherical opening on a horizontal plane devoid of all mineral substances in this case.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 01:36 PM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
Is black tape REQUIRED or is it just "suggested" on wire nuts inside junction boxes?

Thanks!

DM
not required, suggest, or desired and if you do it anymore I'm going to come up there and black tape you to the mailbox post. Then watch as you try to get that black goo off.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 06:16 PM   #14
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


I'll wrap tape on switches/plugs that are exposed when I can't cut the power to them. Don't recall ever taping a Marrete.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Go ahead and apply for a variance, those guys at City Hall can use a good laugh.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 06:42 PM   #15
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is black tape REQUIRED?


i always see it on old work with the 2 fuzzy black wires and a glass wire nut

Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 14/3 with black and red hot = code? hellothere123 Electrical 7 09-20-2010 09:20 AM
Paint problems....or just problems with the painter... deanswife Painting 5 07-30-2010 08:36 AM
Roof heat tape installation options daroepke Roofing/Siding 0 06-25-2010 12:36 PM
Which flashing tape for Chimney flashing? gante Building & Construction 9 03-19-2009 10:27 AM
Drywall Mudding - Tape Lifting Drywall_Dummy Building & Construction 5 09-06-2005 11:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.