Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-05-2007, 02:10 PM   #1

Share |

Bizarre Workshop Wiring

I bought this older home that has a pretty big (12x24) workshop that the previous owner had built. I've been using it myself for a few years and it's fed by an overhead supply line.

I'm needing to reroute that to be a direct burial cable so I started looking into how they had fed it... here's the wierd part...

They took a 220 volt circuit, (2 wire plus one ground) from the main panel to the shed. In the shed, they put in 2 new grounding rods and tied the 2 ground wires together through a large fuse on/off switch/panel.

The outlets and fixtures in the shed have seperate neutrals, etc. that are then tied to the ground via the switch/panel in the shed. So now the shed has 110V circuits. ie; they use the hot from each leg of the main panels 220V circuit and run that to ground via the neutral.

Obviously, everything "works", but is this optimal or to code in Canada? Or when I re-route the overhead, should I run new 3 wire ciruit to the shed?

I hope I explained it well enough....

Last edited by slakker; 11-05-2007 at 02:13 PM.
slakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 05:02 PM   #2
Union Electrician

Bizarre Workshop Wiring

I can't be sure but this is a good way to find out if what I'm thinking is actually happening. Turn on the lights, and plug something into a couple of outlets and let them run. Then take an amprobe and take a reading on your ground. Just curious.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 09:09 PM   #3

Bizarre Workshop Wiring

No amperage on the ground as far as I can tell... I used one of those induction type amp meters... Ground is connected to "ground" via 3 seperate points at the switch/panel... To the Main Panel in the house via the 2 wire and 1 ground wire and also to the 2 grounding rods...