Biggest Au Wire In 1.5 Pvc - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2009, 02:17 PM   #1
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 514
Default

biggest au wire in 1.5 pvc


I ran 1.5 pvc to my detached garage. What is the biggest aluminum wire I can fit with 2 hots a neutral and a ground. Thanks -jimmy

Advertisement

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 06:10 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

biggest au wire in 1.5 pvc


This is a good calculator

http://www.cerrowire.com/default.aspx?id=49

Advertisement

dcopps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 07:56 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

biggest au wire in 1.5 pvc


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
biggest au wire in 1.5 pvc
Are you sure you want to use solid gold wire?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:27 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

biggest au wire in 1.5 pvc


One thing about AU (gold) wire, a small wire would conduct a LOT of current!!

Seriously, if you're using either THWN or XHHW, the codebook says you can get 4-2/0s in a 1-1/2 schedule 40 PVC conduit. Aluminum or copper, it doesn't matter. It also says you can get 3-3/0s in, but if you figure cross-sectional area, the biggest ground you could get is a #8. Useless with 3/0s.

That's what the codebook says, it doesn't mean you can actually pull it though!

If it's less than 100', and not more than two 90s and you use lots of lube, it'll probably go in. When you're done, you'll know you've been in a fight though!

A while ago, I pulled 3-#1s, 1-#2, 1-#6, and some controls in a 1-1/2 about 130', with two 90s. It went in alright, but it made a 1200 lb. tugger work a bit. The guy feeding knew how to pull wire, otherwise it would have been much harder.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 150
Default

biggest au wire in 1.5 pvc


Mmm.. wouldn't you size your wire to your needs first and then size your conduit?

Gary
Gary_602z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 12:23 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

biggest au wire in 1.5 pvc


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary_602z View Post
Mmm.. wouldn't you size your wire to your needs first and then size your conduit?

Gary

Useally that is correct way but somecase with exsting set up we have to really watch the conduit size but for large conductors the smallest one I will use is 1.5 inches or larger.

This moring I ran 4 inch conduit with 4X500KCM's { 240mm˛} with two 90 ells plus two 45 ells it was kinda borderline with our med size tugger (*3KG rating )( I did install very large sweep ell in there in first place that make the diffrence there )

Merci,Marc

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 07-16-2009 at 01:39 AM. Reason: * please read my next comment for fix up the goof there sorry about that
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 02:02 AM   #7
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

biggest au wire in 1.5 pvc


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
This moring I ran 4 inch conduit with 4X500KCM's { 240mm˛} with two 90 ells plus two 45 ells it was kinda borderline with our med size tugger (3KG rating )( I did install very large sweep ell in there in first place that make the diffrence there )

Merci,Marc
3 kg? That's the weakest tugger I have ever heard of! I have a small tugger that will peak 3000 lbs. You should take that thing back and get one that can pull wire, and is properly rated, in newtons or pounds
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 01:38 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

biggest au wire in 1.5 pvc


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
3 kg? That's the weakest tugger I have ever heard of! I have a small tugger that will peak 3000 lbs. You should take that thing back and get one that can pull wire, and is properly rated, in newtons or pounds

Opps I should say 3,000 KG I was not pay attetion to the typing sorry about that { I did have a long day so it will get me if not carefull }

Merci,Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 05:13 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 02:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 10:00 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts