Best Way To Splice A Wire Back Together - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2012, 09:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Best way to splice a wire back together


To do some work on a wall I am going to cut a 14/2 that runs through the wall joists. After cutting, the wire will be too short to splice back together. How is this best accomplished?

puttster

Advertisement

puttster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:28 PM   #2
Just a DIY guy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Best way to splice a wire back together


Can you disconnect the wire at the end of its run and and pull it through the studs (wall joists) so you do not have to cut it?

What kind of work are you doing that requres wire cutting?

Advertisement

M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:29 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,017
Rewards Points: 2,832
Default

Best way to splice a wire back together


You can either replace it between the two boxes or you are going to need to add two junction boxes and a short jumper cable between the new boxes.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:32 PM   #4
Just a DIY guy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Best way to splice a wire back together


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You can either replace it between the two boxes or you are going to need to add two junction boxes and a short jumper cable between the new boxes.
And since the boxes are in a wall, the box covers must remain accessible after the wall is re-finished. So if you add two junction boxes, you will have two covers on the wall when you are done.

Thus, replacing the wire between the boxes is a better way to go, or what I suggested, to avoid cutting it at all.
M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:44 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

Best way to splice a wire back together


What, you do not have a cable stretcher? I mean come on now, everyone should have one in their tool kit. All kidding aside, how much distance are we talking, when it comes to the cut ends?
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 10:52 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Best way to splice a wire back together


Don't tease me with the cable stretcher, you know that is what I was looking for.

Some wall is getting removed so I can use the idea to unwire it from one of the boxes and pull it back through the studs. That's a good idea. When I'm done building there will likely be a detour back to the box so the wire will still be a little short. But by doing it this way I will only have to add one box, and I can probably use the one extra outlet anyway.

Thanks for the info folks!
puttster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 01:00 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Best way to splice a wire back together


Quote:
Originally Posted by puttster View Post
Don't tease me with the cable stretcher, you know that is what I was looking for.

Some wall is getting removed so I can use the idea to unwire it from one of the boxes and pull it back through the studs. That's a good idea. When I'm done building there will likely be a detour back to the box so the wire will still be a little short. But by doing it this way I will only have to add one box, and I can probably use the one extra outlet anyway.

Thanks for the info folks!
Just becarefull when you pull that out and when you do add a new box what room this will be serve due there is few area that is off limit if that circuit is used from other rooms.

The typical circuit can only stay in the rooms are

* Bathroom
* Kitchen
* Landury room
* Garage

Those circuit you can not tap and use them in other rooms at all so check it ahead of that.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 07:31 AM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,233
Rewards Points: 2,376
Default

Best way to splice a wire back together


I hope this is not how you did it.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 12:25 PM   #9
Just a DIY guy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Best way to splice a wire back together


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I hope this is not how you did it.
A little duct tape and those are ready to put back in the box!


Advertisement

M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 03:06 AM
Dimmer switch with Hot & Neutral wire ? Knucklez Electrical 3 12-28-2010 05:24 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 08:07 PM
6/3 wire through smurf tube? anygren Electrical 13 08-14-2010 08:23 AM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 10:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts