Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2008, 09:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Louis area
Posts: 12
Share |
Unhappy

Best way to change out a GFI


I need to replace a GFI outlet, how ever I am not sure what circuit breaker controls this circuit. What is the best way to handle this. Should I turn off all the electric feeding into the house, or short the circuit to blow the circuit breaker.

charlie C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 09:44 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie C View Post
I need to replace a GFI outlet, how ever I am not sure what circuit breaker controls this circuit. What is the best way to handle this. Should I turn off all the electric feeding into the house, or short the circuit to blow the circuit breaker.
Plug a radio or lamp into the GFCI. Turn the breakers off and on until you find the correct breaker. Label it in the panel for next time and make your replacement with that breaker turned off.

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 10:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Louis area
Posts: 12
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


Not able to do that because the GFI is not working.
charlie C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 10:16 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


Fastest way would be to just shut off the main breaker, assuming that there's enough natural light to do the work with, or get someone to hold a flashlight. I wouldn't recomment trying to cause a short-circuit. Once the new GFCI is in place, make sure you label which breaker it is, using the lamp/radio idea.
ktulu05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 08:24 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie C View Post
Not able to do that because the GFI is not working.
I should have figured that.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 08:43 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


Have a helper turn off breakers while you test the wires in the box before actually un-wiring the device.
You DO have a tester, don't you???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 10:54 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Louis area
Posts: 12
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


I am kind of on my own on this one. GFI is outside on the front side of building and breaker box is in the basement.
charlie C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 11:49 AM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


Everyone have those little radios nowadays. Get a friend to help at the panel.

You say "building". Is this a house? Your house?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 12:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


How do you know its GFI and not the wiring or breaker?
BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 12:59 PM   #10
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


Are you sure that your GFCI didn't just trip out due to an imbalance of current? Or a neucance trip from having a motor or refrigerant compressor plugged into it?
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 03:24 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Louis area
Posts: 12
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


This house belongs to a friend of mine and the GFI will not reset and no power coming out, I see no ckt bkr tripped in the breaker box. This O/S outlet feeds a low voltage lighting for outside and worked prior to a rain storm in which the cover plate was knocked off. So I am almost positive it is the GFI that is bad. I would like to repalce it with the power cut off to the circuit. It appears I will have to cut the entire house off to to this.
charlie C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 10:57 PM   #12
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,566
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


I seriously doubt the GFI is the problem here. I think the box that was open got wet in the rainstorm, and some of the power is now going to ground, because the wires are wet. The GFI is doing exactly what it's supposed to do.

If the GFI is replaced, the new one will almost certainly trip as well.

If you can dry everything out that got wet in the rain, there's a good possibility that the existing GFI will reset and stay reset.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 09:03 AM   #13
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

Best way to change out a GFI


If the GFCI got wet, it might be a good idea to replace it whether or not you can get it to reset or not.
After replacing and testing, seal the top and sides between the plate and wall surface with a little clear silicone.

__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to change my electrical panel? 2nd opinion needed I_have_questions Electrical 60 01-30-2009 09:38 AM
How to change the shower valve? amdspitfire Plumbing 17 04-06-2008 09:05 PM
Change a door from left hand to right hand? mhaucke Building & Construction 10 10-07-2007 11:18 PM
Considering Room Addition & Roof Change pkthomas_ar Building & Construction 4 05-02-2007 06:41 PM
change color of flooring and other wood finishing, possible? KUIPORNG Remodeling 3 07-20-2006 06:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.