Best Ground Of 3 Choices To Add Ground To Circuit? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2013, 09:11 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Best ground of 3 choices to add ground to circuit?


Converting one circuit(media room) to grounded outlets. I have replaced all outlets on the circuit and installed new wiring except for the run from first outlet to breaker.

I have three options to run the last one from least to most difficult:

1. Easy drop into crawl space and run ground directly to already installed grounding rod,

2. Drop to crawl space and join ground from next circuit which was added with an addition to the house and is already grounded,

3. Figure out where the run goes in the ceiling and follow it to the outside breaker box and ground at breaker, or run it through crawl space to same.

Thoughts as to what is best/safest?

Advertisement

__________________
Doing things almost the right way...
Double is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:32 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Best ground of 3 choices to add ground to circuit?


#1 is perfecly acceptable for a separate bare or green insulated ground wire (equipment grounding conductor) provided that the rod has been interconnected with the panel grounding system (bonded to the grounding electrode system) with a #6 copper wire.

#2 is not permitted with a separate EGC; you need new wiring for that receptacle i.e. a new 12-2 (14-2 for 15 amp circuit) cable with ground wired into the junction box, and that junction box must have had modernized wiring (not a separate EGC) back to the panel.

#3 is allowed with a separate EGC provided the breaker box is the one that has the breaker for this receptacle or has the first main disconnect for the house. Otherwise you need new wiring from that receptacle to the breaker box.

All new wiring is preferable. Whether you run the new cable to the panel (#3) or to an existing junction box (#2) or to tne next receptacle, that just got new wiring (#4) would depend on the expected load (usage) on the circuit at the junction box or next receptacle.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-13-2013 at 11:53 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:46 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Best ground of 3 choices to add ground to circuit?


For #1: There is a copper wire that runs right to the rod from the breaker box. So that may be the simplest solution

#2 is out.

#3 is only if I run a new 12-2.
__________________
Doing things almost the right way...
Double is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Above ground pool circuit Juance Electrical 31 07-28-2012 01:01 PM
Dimming lights on one circuit, GFCI breaker tripped boatman537 Electrical 4 06-05-2012 11:43 AM
Open Ground in Non Daisy Chained Outlet Circuit RileyRR Electrical 2 05-18-2011 03:00 PM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 03:06 AM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 09:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts