Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2012, 10:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Below Grade Wire Splices


Should wire splices in a round underground box such as one might find for a sprinkler valve or drain pipe clean out be made with common wire nuts? My electrician says it is OK (pool wiring) but I think the wire connections should be water tight. Plastic conduits come up from the ground below into the box. Wires come out of the conduits and are joined with regular twist on wire nuts. The top of the box is flush with the surface of the ground. The splices are below ground level.

InspectorJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:40 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,678
Default

Below Grade Wire Splices


Quote:
Originally Posted by InspectorJon View Post
Should wire splices in a round underground box such as one might find for a sprinkler valve or drain pipe clean out be made with common wire nuts? My electrician says it is OK (pool wiring) but I think the wire connections should be water tight. Plastic conduits come up from the ground below into the box. Wires come out of the conduits and are joined with regular twist on wire nuts. The top of the box is flush with the surface of the ground. The splices are below ground level.
No good... Im also concerned on what circuits you are actually splicing since this is a pool.



Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-23-2012 at 10:43 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:46 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Below Grade Wire Splices


Thanks for the the quick response. That is just what I thought.
InspectorJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:48 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,678
Default

Below Grade Wire Splices


Quote:
Originally Posted by InspectorJon View Post
Thanks for the the quick response. That is just what I thought.
If he is splicing pool lights he has more issues to contend with.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (07-23-2012)
Old 07-23-2012, 10:51 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Below Grade Wire Splices


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
.. Im also concerned on what circuits you are actually splicing since this is a pool.
My thoughts as well.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 11:09 PM   #6
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

Below Grade Wire Splices


I think hes only questioning the wires that are already nutted together.
There is no mention of adding additional devices, but the word "splicing" is what makes the statement suspicious.
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 11:16 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,678
Default

Below Grade Wire Splices


Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterZ View Post
I think hes only questioning the wires that are already nutted together.
There is no mention of adding additional devices, but the word "splicing" is what makes the statement suspicious.
My concern is WHAT he is splicing...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 11:23 PM   #8
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

Below Grade Wire Splices


Yes i understand. Im suggesting this is an existing install hes worried about upon inspection.
Could be wrong tho. Either way, looks like he needs another electrician

Always difficult to diagnose from such limited info. We'll prolly never hear from him again. Lol
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 11:25 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,678
Default

Below Grade Wire Splices


Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterZ View Post
Yes i understand. Im suggesting this is an existing install hes worried about upon inspection.
Could be wrong tho. Either way, looks like he needs another electrician

Always difficult to diagnose from such limited info. We'll prolly never hear from him again. Lol
I agree.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell vision pro, fan always on? and True Steam problem c5sb HVAC 6 06-19-2012 09:08 PM
which grade wire to use for grounding subpanel amakarevic Electrical 10 07-09-2011 03:51 PM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.