Battery LED Circuit Into A Wood Box? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-21-2012, 04:21 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

battery LED circuit into a wood box?

I'm just starting to learn about electricity and creating LED circuits - I'd like to mount a battery driven (3 AAA with 1 white LED) circuit with a switch into a small wooden box (hole in the top - cool lighting effect). I've got the circuit soldered together, but am wondering how to mount it safely into a wood box (tight quarters). How do I insulate the bare wire connections and how do I best hold them into place? I'd love to use something like hot glue (good for holding, but not for insulating I'm thinking) - what do you all recommend?

Also, is there anything tricky about what the led "bulb" itself can or can't touch? can this slip directly into a hole drilled in the wood without danger?

Thanks for humoring an electronics newbie.

M.

Advertisement

Missy Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 05:18 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 150

battery LED circuit into a wood box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Missy Bloom View Post
I'm just starting to learn about electricity and creating LED circuits - I'd like to mount a battery driven (3 AAA with 1 white LED) circuit with a switch into a small wooden box (hole in the top - cool lighting effect). I've got the circuit soldered together, but am wondering how to mount it safely into a wood box (tight quarters). How do I insulate the bare wire connections and how do I best hold them into place? I'd love to use something like hot glue (good for holding, but not for insulating I'm thinking) - what do you all recommend?

Also, is there anything tricky about what the led "bulb" itself can or can't touch? can this slip directly into a hole drilled in the wood without danger?

Thanks for humoring an electronics newbie.