Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2009, 04:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Bathroom Wiring Project


Hoping someone can help me understand what I did wrong.

I am wiring a bathroom with all 12-2 wire and it is all on one circuit 20amp. I have a 3-gang box with sw1 controlling the overhead lights, sw2 the two vanity lights and sw 3 an exhaust fan with no light. also in the bath are two gfi's. I ran the wire from the panel into a junction box where it connects with wires from the overhead lights, vanity lights exhaust fan and gfi's. out of the junction box is one line into the 3 gang which then pigtails to the three switches. Can this work? If so how, If not, what is the easiest way to fix my mess?
Thanks

diyrick28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 04:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Bathroom Wiring Project


You should have just went breaker->gfci1->gfci2->switch box->lights/fan.

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 04:25 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Bathroom Wiring Project


Jerry:

So run the 12-2 from the breaker to the 1st GFI. connect the 2nd via the loads into the hots. Then run 12-2 from the load to the switch box and pig tail off that?
diyrick28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 04:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Bathroom Wiring Project


As long as this circuit only supplies this bathroom(and no fastened loads over 10A) you can do this. Gfci2 will connect to the line side of the gfci1. You'll connect the feed from gfci2 to the switches to the "load" terminals of gfci2. Pigtail the feeder to your three switches and run 12/2 to each device(overhead,vanity, fan). Get a deep switch box. All of that 12 gauge isn't going to be fun in a standard depth.

Last edited by jerryh3; 10-29-2009 at 04:46 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 04:58 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

Bathroom Wiring Project


Lights are not required to be gfci protected. The way I would do it is use the line side of each gfci and not the load side.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 05:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Bathroom Wiring Project


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Lights are not required to be gfci protected. The way I would do it is use the line side of each gfci and not the load side.
I know they're not required, but I like the protection. Ever find yourself turning on the exhaust fan from inside the shower?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 05:37 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,392
Default

Bathroom Wiring Project


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyrick28 View Post
Hoping someone can help me understand what I did wrong.

I am wiring a bathroom with all 12-2 wire and it is all on one circuit 20amp. I have a 3-gang box with sw1 controlling the overhead lights, sw2 the two vanity lights and sw 3 an exhaust fan with no light. also in the bath are two gfi's. I ran the wire from the panel into a junction box where it connects with wires from the overhead lights, vanity lights exhaust fan and gfi's. out of the junction box is one line into the 3 gang which then pigtails to the three switches. Can this work? If so how, If not, what is the easiest way to fix my mess?
Thanks
The lines to the lights and fan should go to the 3 gang switch box not the 'junction box' with the power. Where is this 'junction box'? Is it one of the GFCI boxes? It can't be buried inside a wall. It has to remain accessible.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 05:38 PM   #8
Residential Contractor
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 134
Default

Bathroom Wiring Project


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
I know they're not required, but I like the protection. Ever find yourself turning on the exhaust fan from inside the shower?
I agree. In fact, one "authority having jurisdiction" where I have done work requires it. It is included in their local amendments to the NEC with regard to their area.

rselectric1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring a bathroom fan, light, heater combo on two switches zddingus Electrical 9 04-22-2010 07:48 PM
wiring a basement bathroom tdhollywood Electrical 7 04-22-2009 05:10 PM
Old wiring - Bathroom Light Psully24 Electrical 11 12-01-2007 12:20 AM
Getting ready for the bathroom subfloor project scheduled for this weekend... tallycat77 Flooring 8 07-10-2005 10:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.