Bathroom Switch And Central Air/Furnace - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2014, 03:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Hey all. I've got a bathroom light switch that trips the breaker, and the AC/Furnace goes out. The circuit is 15a. How can this be that the bathroom and AC are on the same circuit?

Advertisement

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:44 AM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Hey all. I've got a bathroom light switch that trips the breaker, and the AC/Furnace goes out. The circuit is 15a. How can this be that the bathroom and AC are on the same circuit?
First off, find out where the fault is.

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (06-18-2014)
Old 06-17-2014, 07:35 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 284
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


stickboy is right. First find the problem. The answer to your second question depends on when it was wired (pre-bathroom it's on circuit requirement?) and who did the wiring.
petey_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 02:11 PM   #4
Electrican
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,100
Rewards Points: 1,544
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Either the Furnace and bath are on a double pole breaker, they share the same single pole breaker, or the hots from different circuits are tied together. That would explain both going out at the same time.


Your next step is to repair what ever is short circuiting. If its the switch that does it your fault is pretty much narrowed down to what ever is on that switch.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 07:25 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,961
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Could be a gas furnace and just the blower on the same circuit as the bathroom light.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 04:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Could be a gas furnace and just the blower on the same circuit as the bathroom light.
Thanks, jb, I think this is the case.

Could it also be that the thermostat is on the bath circuit?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 04:13 PM   #7
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,549
Rewards Points: 780
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


That is usually the case.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 04:40 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by PoleCat View Post
That is usually the case.
I don't really know how A/Cs and furnaces are wired, but I was meaning that perhaps the thermostat was 120v wired, while the A/C was 240v. Is that possible?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 05:06 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,476
Rewards Points: 1,308
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
I don't really know how A/Cs and furnaces are wired, but I was meaning that perhaps the thermostat was 120v wired, while the A/C was 240v. Is that possible?
Normally they are powered by 24 volts from a power supply in the unit itself.

Advertisement

zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zappa For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (06-19-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Central Exhaust fan, adding a switch fumbrunner Electrical 2 11-16-2012 01:47 PM
taco sr503-4 switch jmon HVAC 53 11-12-2012 07:26 PM
Analog multimeter shows voltage even with 3-way switch off OCPik4chu Electrical 17 09-25-2012 01:20 PM
Add Third Timer Switch to Central Exhaust Fan MaxSteel Electrical 4 11-01-2011 03:08 PM
Central Air/Furnace Fan Problem crowbb HVAC 17 04-10-2010 09:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts