Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2014, 02:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Hey all. I've got a bathroom light switch that trips the breaker, and the AC/Furnace goes out. The circuit is 15a. How can this be that the bathroom and AC are on the same circuit?

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 05:44 AM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,098
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Hey all. I've got a bathroom light switch that trips the breaker, and the AC/Furnace goes out. The circuit is 15a. How can this be that the bathroom and AC are on the same circuit?
First off, find out where the fault is.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (06-18-2014)
Old 06-17-2014, 06:35 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


stickboy is right. First find the problem. The answer to your second question depends on when it was wired (pre-bathroom it's on circuit requirement?) and who did the wiring.
petey_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 01:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 562
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Either the Furnace and bath are on a double pole breaker, they share the same single pole breaker, or the hots from different circuits are tied together. That would explain both going out at the same time.


Your next step is to repair what ever is short circuiting. If its the switch that does it your fault is pretty much narrowed down to what ever is on that switch.
Jump-start is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 06:25 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,794
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Could be a gas furnace and just the blower on the same circuit as the bathroom light.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 03:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Could be a gas furnace and just the blower on the same circuit as the bathroom light.
Thanks, jb, I think this is the case.

Could it also be that the thermostat is on the bath circuit?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 03:13 PM   #7
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,398
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


That is usually the case.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 03:40 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by PoleCat View Post
That is usually the case.
I don't really know how A/Cs and furnaces are wired, but I was meaning that perhaps the thermostat was 120v wired, while the A/C was 240v. Is that possible?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 04:06 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,065
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Bathroom Switch and Central Air/Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
I don't really know how A/Cs and furnaces are wired, but I was meaning that perhaps the thermostat was 120v wired, while the A/C was 240v. Is that possible?
Normally they are powered by 24 volts from a power supply in the unit itself.

zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zappa For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (06-19-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Central Exhaust fan, adding a switch fumbrunner Electrical 2 11-16-2012 12:47 PM
taco sr503-4 switch jmon HVAC 53 11-12-2012 06:26 PM
Analog multimeter shows voltage even with 3-way switch off OCPik4chu Electrical 17 09-25-2012 12:20 PM
Add Third Timer Switch to Central Exhaust Fan MaxSteel Electrical 4 11-01-2011 02:08 PM
Central Air/Furnace Fan Problem crowbb HVAC 17 04-10-2010 08:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.