Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2008, 07:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Bathroom(s) Lights


Ok, two bathrooms, two lights. Both are on the same line. Bathroom B's lighting and switch hasn't been tampered with. Everything is happening because of Bathroom A.

In bathroom A, I have the light, an outlet, and a switch. Previously, the outlet was always on. Then I went to replace the light fixture, forgot to label the wires, and all hell broke out (not really, I'm just really confused now).

Right now, Bathroom A's light fixture box has four sets of wires coming from it. One is for the bathroom fan, one for the light fixture going to bathroom B's light, one that the power is coming from and one that I'm assuming is for the switch?

I cannot for the life of me figure out how to reconnect these wires so that Bathroom A's switch controls only Bathroom A's fan and light. I've try to reconnect everything, but it only slightly worked -- A's switch controlled everything: A's outlet, A's fan, A's light, B's light (it overrides B's switch).

Any idea what wire I'm not hooking up correctly?
formhide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 10:50 PM   #2
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 961
Default

Bathroom(s) Lights


the wire going to the outlet, which in then feeds the other bathroom, got hooked to the wire coming from the switch, instead of the wire coming from the panel.

i drew up a wireing diagram of what it sounds like you should have

http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/dfe3ca7bd3.jpg
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 06:06 AM   #3
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Bathroom(s) Lights


Short of seeing it, it sounds like this:

cable 1: incoming power
cable 2: switch loop for bath a light
cable 3: switch loop for bath a fan
cable 4: outbound power to bath b


What you need to do is this: determine which cable is which.

You will need a multi meter for this. Do you have one? If not, you can get a pretty cheap one for under $10 that will do the job for this.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
undercabinet puck lights ccalmonte Electrical 7 08-05-2008 08:25 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 07:23 PM
Added can lights, tripping GFI tandyt Electrical 3 05-18-2008 09:55 AM
Pot lights in a drop ceiling Howdy Electrical 3 03-14-2008 08:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.