Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2011, 10:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: OH
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Bathroom Question


Hello,

New user here. I have a question regarding wiring a new bathroom in our basement.

We are in a new home, just completed 5 months ago. All work originally performed was done by licensed contractors, using a general contractor. A bath was roughed in in the basement, and we are getting ready to start finishing the basement.

After reading through the forum, I see that every where a bath is concerned, it almost always says that a dedicated 20a circuit is required for a bath. This confuses me, since the just completed house has only 15a circuits going to our baths, and they also share with other receptacles in adjacent hallways. All of the work was inspected properly by the township we are located in, I was there when some of the inspections were done so I know (at least I believe) that they were properly inspected. I was personally there when the rough electric was inspected, and it was clear that it was 14-2 wiring being used. The only 20a breakers in the panel (and the only yellow 12-2 wiring run through the house) is for the kitchen, kitchenette and dining room circuits. I have counted the # of 20a breakers, and also the # of 12-2 cables (yellow) that leave the panel, and they match.

I was planning on using 14-2 cable for the new bath, but am unsure of why everone says 12-2 must be used when the new home didn't use that.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Tom

TinOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 10:53 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Bathroom Question


Add your location to your profile. Canada has different rules than USA. In Canada you are fine.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 02-24-2011 at 05:40 PM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 11:04 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE Mass
Posts: 87
Default

Bathroom Question


20amp is required for the GFCI outlet that's called for.
The lights can and should be on a 15amp circuit, and aren't required to be GFCI protected.
It can be hazardous if the GFI were to trip and the room is in total darkness.
Do It Right is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 11:06 AM   #4
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Bathroom Question


Even in the US, not every place adopts the newest code when it comes out. Some places might be a couple cycles behind.
Odd_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 09:24 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: OH
Posts: 3
Default

Bathroom Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Odd_Guy View Post
Even in the US, not every place adopts the newest code when it comes out. Some places might be a couple cycles behind.
Im still confused. Do places adopt the code in total, or just pieces they want? If it is correct that they do not require the 20a bath circuit, then that must be from 2 cycles ago, correct? But, AFCI were required for all living spaces. That is a more recent adoption I thought.

I am just wondering if I can use 15a circuits throughout the new basement finishing, since that was done for the new construction of the rest of the house 5 months ago.

Tom
TinOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 09:40 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,328
Default

Bathroom Question


For the few cents you would save installing the smaller and non code compliant wiring you would be short changing yourself. Doing it correctly give you an additional 1/3 capacity and will meet the code.

I do not know why the permitted work was allowed as the code changed in the mid 90s or so.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 12:03 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: OH
Posts: 3
Default

Bathroom Question


Thanks all that responded. I will be wiring the bath to code.

Next question then is, What do I do about the current wiring? If/when I pull a permit to do my finish of the basement, and someone inspects and sees the previous wiring, what can they do? Is this something I should question through the Building Department? Or, just leave it alone?

I have copies of the original "Pass" for electrical work (rough, final and the final building inspection). Will this save me from having to redo everything that I didn't touch? Same for down the road and selling. If the electrical inspector and building inspector passed the construction, I'm covered, right?

Thanks,

Tom

TinOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Bathroom Question ryuki Painting 5 02-02-2011 12:17 AM
Roughed in Bathroom Question lassohuey Plumbing 8 09-18-2010 12:40 PM
Bathroom remodel question joeg679 Remodeling 5 03-28-2010 10:32 PM
Bathroom drywall question... StevePax Remodeling 9 01-08-2010 02:30 PM
Bathroom exhaust question Horace HVAC 4 07-27-2006 07:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.