Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2012, 09:20 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 151
Share |
Default

bathroom power


I have a downstairs powder room that has it's dedicated 20 amp GFI receptical. I intend to run from there, two new plug ins in my upstairs bathroom.

Do those two new recepticals need any visible indication that they are GFI protected?
__________________
I'm gonna hurl myself against the wall
because I'd rather feel bad than not feel anything at all
Warren Zevon

Last edited by handifoot; 05-23-2012 at 09:29 AM.
handifoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 09:31 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,050
Default

bathroom power


You may want to consider running them from the line side of the first GFI so that if the upstairs were to trip you would not need to go downstairs to reset it. This will require a second GFI upstairs.

No need for labeling.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.

Last edited by Jim Port; 05-23-2012 at 11:33 AM.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:31 AM   #3
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 320
Default

bathroom power


I agree with Jim - wire from the line side, then have the first receptacle in the upstairs bathroom be a GFCI (you would need to purchase and install a new gfci receptacle here since the downstairs one would provide no GFCI protection) and wire the second upstaries bath receptacle on the load side of the first upstairs receptacle

Last edited by kevinp22; 05-23-2012 at 01:21 PM.
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:32 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 151
Default

bathroom power


Thank you, I am however a bit unclear on your information. The first and only GFI outlet is in the downstairs bath. Wouldn't the downstream outlets need to be run from the load side to be protected? And if not, where else but at the original GFI would I reset a tripped circuit ?
__________________
I'm gonna hurl myself against the wall
because I'd rather feel bad than not feel anything at all
Warren Zevon
handifoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:34 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,050
Default

bathroom power


A second GFI would need to be upstairs also.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
kevinp22 (05-23-2012)
Old 05-23-2012, 04:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 151
Default

bathroom power


Got it. Thanks very much for clarification
__________________
I'm gonna hurl myself against the wall
because I'd rather feel bad than not feel anything at all
Warren Zevon
handifoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multiple choice - basement bathroom venting debacle and burps denemante Plumbing 1 11-15-2011 10:50 AM
Bathroom to Laundry Room to Bathroom bcatanz10 Remodeling 2 10-10-2011 09:45 PM
Dumb electrical question about potentially overloading a power socket zapp Electrical 2 02-18-2011 09:43 AM
Project adding 3-phase power to a tenant finish project bnharbor Electrical 5 11-11-2010 05:39 AM
all my bathroom outlet don't have power nugentoffer Electrical 9 04-14-2010 09:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.