Bathroom Outlet Help! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2011, 09:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Outlet Help!


I'm new to this board but anyway...

My bathroom outlet only works when the lights are off! When the lights are off it works perfectly and can power my hairdryer and sorts but I would like it to work when the lights are on!

Can anybody give me any advice?

I know I haven't really given to many details but if you ask I will look into it... Sorry I'm not really an electrician

Advertisement

DarkSlayer00001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 09:52 PM   #2
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Bathroom Outlet Help!


Two questions:
1. Do you know what circuit(s) control(s) the bathroom and how to shut it off?

2. Do you have a non-contact voltage tester?

Advertisement

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 09:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Outlet Help!


1. Yes I know which how to switch off power to the bathroom

2. I'm pretty sure I have one somewhere but I don't know... I can look
DarkSlayer00001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 09:57 PM   #4
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Bathroom Outlet Help!


Dig out your non-contact voltage tester and probably a camera to take some pics.

I'm not going to be able to help troubleshoot (I'm competent at installation, but not figuring out what-done-gone-wrong), but I can tell you, if you are willing to do some work, post some pics of your set-up, someone here probably will.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:01 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Outlet Help!


How much work? If it's alot I'll just ask my friend to help or hire an electrician
DarkSlayer00001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:04 PM   #6
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Bathroom Outlet Help!


Sounds like you have a loose neutral somewhere. Either the plug is back stabbed and the connections have become loose and or it's somewhere else.
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:06 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Outlet Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Sounds like you have a loose neutral somewhere. Either the plug is back stabbed and the connections have become loose and or it's somewhere else.
How would I go about dealing with this... Taking out the Outlet and rewiring?
DarkSlayer00001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:11 PM   #8
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Bathroom Outlet Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkSlayer00001 View Post
How would I go about dealing with this... Taking out the Outlet and rewiring?
Start by asking more questions here. Also, if you decide to pull some switches and outlets take pics as you go and LABEL EVERYTHING so you can put it back how it was.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:28 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bathroom Outlet Help!


Betcha someone installed a 3-way switch on your lights there. The downstream load of the rest of the circuit is interrupted by the 3-way switch.

I'd start looking there, and replace it with a single pole unit if that is the case.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 12:53 AM   #10
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,573
Rewards Points: 2,042
Default

Bathroom Outlet Help!


Has it always been like this, or is it a new problem that just started happening? If it's always been this way, then I bet KB has it right: someone installed a 3-way switch for the light and connected the downstream devices to the other terminal on the switch for some reason. If this is a new problem, then please describe what occurred when it first happened, and describe the symptoms in as much detail as possible.

Advertisement

mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gutting bathroom debiasio Remodeling 30 02-17-2011 03:32 PM
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 08:41 AM
ground bathroom outlet flman Electrical 4 01-16-2011 12:52 PM
Bathroom fan replacement reveals...a mess merlanvp Electrical 0 07-25-2010 09:00 PM
outlet in bathroom cabinet OK? matty Electrical 5 08-02-2007 10:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts