Bathroom Must Be On Separate Circuit? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2008, 10:25 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Bathroom must be on separate circuit?


I read somewhere that bathrooms must be on their own circuit. Is that correct? If so, what is the rationale behind it?

My master bathroom is on the same (15 amp) circuit as the master bedroom and the family room/great room. I'm guessing that this came about due to some rodent damage to the wiring---there are a couple of unused circuits and I've spent a lot of time cleaning up the rodent mess since we moved in. I believe I could put the master bath on its own circuit without too much trouble, but I'm wondering whether this is really an important issue or not, since I have lots of other projects that need to get done. Thanks.

Advertisement

Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 11:12 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bathroom must be on separate circuit?


Only your bathroom receptacle(s) are required to be on a separate 20 Amp circuit. You can share that circuit with other bathroom receptacle outlets, if desired.

The lighting can be on a circuit with other lighting, such as a bedroom, family room, etc.

IF you want to put in a dedicated 20 Amp circuit for each bathroom, then the lighting may be combined with the receptacle outlets for that bathroom only.

But these requirements are for new wiring, and may not be enforceable in existing structures.

Advertisement

kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 11:22 AM   #3
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bathroom must be on separate circuit?


The rationale is that there is alot of high wattage devices used mostly by women, in a bathroom. Also, some folks like to use a portable heater in the bathroom. I don't consider it a terribly pressing issue if your receptacles aren't on a separate circuit in an old work situation. But it is important that they be GFCI protected. If you remodel, it would be a good idea to run a new circuit.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 04:25 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
Bathroom circuit ptcamaro Electrical 3 04-21-2008 08:44 AM
Basement Bathroom Circuit design drtpdee Electrical 6 01-03-2008 11:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts