Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2007, 10:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canandaigua, NY
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Medicine cabinate


I just removed the medicine cabinet in my bathroom and am going to replace it with one that does now have a lighted vanity on the top.

When I removed the old medicine cabinet it left me with two sets of wires. The first set is on the left and I assume that it is the main power (1 white, 1 black). The second set is on the right and I assume that it connects to the electrical outlet on the side (1 white, 1 black, 1 green).

I do not know how to hook the wires back up and I also do not know what I should do to tuck the wires away to make them not be seen.

I will try to post a picture when I can, but if anyone can help in the mean time, I would appreciate it.

Buff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 10:27 PM   #2
So Cal Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South OC, Cali
Posts: 88
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to hbsparky
Default

Bathroom Medicine cabinate


is this switched power???

__________________
Well....Butter my butt and call me a biscuit!
hbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 10:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canandaigua, NY
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Medicine cabinate


no. It is just a regular old power outlet. Old house, I don't have any switch outlets or lights...all pull strings
Buff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 10:31 PM   #4
So Cal Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South OC, Cali
Posts: 88
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to hbsparky
Default

Bathroom Medicine cabinate


how well do you think you know electrical???
__________________
Well....Butter my butt and call me a biscuit!
hbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 10:32 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canandaigua, NY
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Medicine cabinate


Buff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 10:34 PM   #6
So Cal Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South OC, Cali
Posts: 88
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to hbsparky
Default

Bathroom Medicine cabinate


oh um wow...where are you?
__________________
Well....Butter my butt and call me a biscuit!
hbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 10:37 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canandaigua, NY
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Medicine cabinate


it's the year 1943 here in New York.
Buff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 10:43 PM   #8
So Cal Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South OC, Cali
Posts: 88
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to hbsparky
Default

Bathroom Medicine cabinate


yeah you guys are a little slow to catch up on the times, I am not going to touch this one, I am going to hand it off to JWhite, I think he is more informative on East coast codes and stuff, I know new york has a lot of codes and don't want to give you wrong info.
__________________
Well....Butter my butt and call me a biscuit!
hbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 11:56 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canandaigua, NY
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Medicine cabinate


well what wires would need to be connected to make the outlet functional?

Or is the outlet power elsewhere and those cords don't even need to be connected at all?
Buff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2007, 12:01 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canandaigua, NY
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bathroom Medicine cabinate


nevermind. I took the plate off the outlet and found out that it is not connected elsewhere. The wires just run up the wall and need to be connected to the other wires.

Does white just go to white and black to black? What about the green one?

Buff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
Second level / attic bathroom size moneymgmt General DIY Discussions 2 05-02-2007 08:32 AM
Bathroom Vent Not Vented to Outside / Would need to vent through flat roof House_Amuck HVAC 5 03-30-2007 10:57 AM
Wiring electric heater in bathroom PatSea Electrical 5 01-06-2007 10:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.