Bathroom Lighting - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-12-2007, 12:46 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Bathroom Lighting

just removed the medicine cabinet in my bathroom and am going to replace it with one that does now have a lighted vanity on the top.

I would like to install a new light above the new cabinet. I would want to convert the outlet on the right to an outlet with a switch and 1 place to plug something into.

What would be the best way to go about wiring everything up.
Please note, I am new at this. All I've ever installed is a new light fixture.

Any help?

Advertisement

Buff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 02:43 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Bathroom Lighting

What did those wires do before you disconnected them?

why did you not cap off all of the ends?

Advertisement

Old 05-12-2007, 11:32 PM   #3

Bathroom Lighting

I didn't cap them all because I didn't have enough caps to do so.

The wires on the left were connected to a medicine cabinet with a lighted vanity. The wires on the right were connected to the power as well, they connect to the outlet through the wire-track.
Old 05-13-2007, 01:50 AM   #4
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 2,448

Bathroom Lighting

Since it is Panduit and an external box, you can pretty much rip it out and toss it if you want. If you want to install a light with switch, your best bet is to change the outlet into a Switch/outlet and use the switch to control the light above the medicine cabinet. This means that you most likely will either have to cut a hole into the wall for the cabinet (makes for easy electrical install), or place it on the wall, cut a hole smaller then the cabinet to allow access to the internal wall structure, and then do the electrical work.

Your job is much easier then you think.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote