Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-16-2008, 11:21 AM   #1

Share |

Bathroom electronic dimmer gets reset by exhaust fan switch?

I am no electrician, by trade I'm a software developer, but I am a fairly intuitive person and can usually handle DIY... so bear with me while I sort out the terminology.

Last night, I installed a Leviton Vizia electronic dimmer and coordinating remote switch in the bathroom in a 3-way configuration. All was well (after sorting out what wires were what, as the builder in my condo seems to have used some unorthodox wiring techniques), until I tried to turn on the exhaust fan which is on another set of two switches (not three way, will explain).

What happens is that when the exhaust fan is switched on or off, most of the time but not all of the time, the dimmer turns the lights off, the LEDs on the dimmer all go out for a second or two, and then it "reboots" and turns the lights back on.

The two fan switches are not three way switches, they are normal single pole switches. That is, if you turn the fan on from one side the other switch does nothing and you must turn the fan off from the switch you originally closed. I am imagining that what is happening is that the two switches are wired in parallel with the motor load.

Now, it's important to note that the speed of the fan is not affected by the dimmer (it is a frequency type, so I'm not sure if the fan would work at all if it was somehow using the same hot wire).

There are only two circumstances that I can think of so far that could be the cause:

1) The fan and the lights are simply too close together that turning the fan on causes enough noise on the circuit that it disrupts the electronic dimmer. Is this even possible, if they are NOT sharing any wiring?