Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-04-2011, 01:23 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Basic wiring outlets and switches

My electrician called last minute and my drywallers are coming to close up some rooms. I have to finish off a couple of outlets and switches and just want to get confirmation that this will be ok and my logic works. Keep in mind that I am totally new to this and will have an electricial make the connections.

Power => 12-2 wire => switch => 12-3 wire => light => 12-2 wire => outlet => 12-2 wire => switch => 12-3 wire => light => 12-2 wire => outlet => 12-2 wire => outlet.

I hope that makes sense. Thanks!

ravageiwise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:34 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Not really, guy. What are you trying to do?

With the 12/3, are you going to be switching any lights or outlets (receptacles) at two different locations?

So, you have:
2 Switches
2 Lights
3 Outlets?

What types of switches do you have?

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:44 AM   #3

Hi,
The switches are single pole and the reason for this odd configuration is because it spans a couple of really small rooms and a small hallway. There is no 3-way happening but figured I needed the 3 wire to keep the power moving in the circuit so the outlets were not switched.

And actually I realized that there is a 4th outlet which I would place after the first light. Perhaps there is a better plan. Sorry for such a lame question.
Old 05-04-2011, 02:22 AM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek

Rewards Points: 2,010