Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2009, 02:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

basic wiring


Hi!

A very basic question. I don't know much about electrical, but I am wiring a new bedroom in the basement. I ran 14-2 wire from the panel to the light switch in the new room, leaving enough spare wire can I now cut the wire and then run wire from the switch to the plug and cut the wire then run it to a wall mounted light then cut the wire then to another plug and cut the wire then to another plug and cut the wire then to another plug and cut the wire, leaving enough spare wire everywhere. An electrician told us what wire we needed, and he is going to hook everything up I just want to make sure I have the wire run the way it is supposed to be.

digimapper

digimapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 03:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

basic wiring


When you say plug do you mean receptacle? So you ran S-R-L-R-R-R? If so, it won't work correctly. At least not with 14-2 wire.

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 03:26 PM   #3
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Default

basic wiring


Sorry, doesn't sound like it, unless you want all the plugs (receptacles, things you plug something into) controlled by the switch. Do you? At it's most basic, a switch controls the flow of electricity to everything after the switch. By putting the switch first on the circuit it will control not only the light, but also all the receptacles. A "typical" installation would go from the panel to the receptacles and then to the switch and then to the light.
WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 05:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

basic wiring


I agree with what they said. No Code violations, but you are not going to be happy with the results.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 05:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

basic wiring


I also only run 12g wire for a 20a circuit for outlets
And if a bedroom you need this protected by AFCI

Is your intent that the switch going to control all the outlets?
That's about your only option with the way you are running the wire
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 05:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Thumbs up

basic wiring


Walden L (Poster #3) had it right. Also, taking Scuba Dave,s remark that if this circuit serves a bedroom/s you will have to stick an AFCI (circuit breaker) in the panel!(No matter what)Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 06:31 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,806
Default

basic wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by digimapper View Post

A very basic question. I don't know much about electrical, but I am wiring a new bedroom in the basement. I ran 14-2 wire from the panel to the light switch in the new room, leaving enough spare wire can I now cut the wire and then run wire from the switch to the plug and cut the wire then run it to a wall mounted light then cut the wire then to another plug and cut the wire then to another plug and cut the wire then to another plug and cut the wire, leaving enough spare wire everywhere. An electrician told us what wire we needed, and he is going to hook everything up I just want to make sure I have the wire run the way it is supposed to be.
Sorry, but as confusing as this post is, I don't see a question.


I have my own questions. What is it exactly you think you will be saving by running the wire, yet not having any clue at all what wire to run?

No offense, but you obviously have no idea what you are doing. Why bother?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 07:07 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

basic wiring


You must feed the light with a separate cable from the switch box.

Everything else can be looped together in any fashion.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sunset Basic Home Wiring cover is wrong? CareBear Electrical 3 09-03-2009 10:31 AM
Basic wiring question Rbutch Electrical 4 05-27-2009 05:36 AM
Basic Wiring Diagram Questions mfleming Electrical 12 12-03-2008 02:05 PM
Looking for a book on basic wiring Lonicera Electrical 8 04-08-2008 10:39 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.