DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Basement wiring questions

2K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  sandiec 
#1 ·
Hi
newbie here. I am adding 15A circuits for my wood shop that is situated in my basement. For the most part I followed the routes the pros did when they wired it. My dilemma arises when I want to add outlets to the far wall.
My basement is concrete floor with concrete walls and cinder blocks through the middle (it forms two rooms). There is no dry wall and I do not plan to put any up. That being said I have a large copper waste pipe that runs along the wall where I would like to add 3 outlets. Is it ok to go over the top of the copper or do I need to put the cable in conduit? Also is it ok to run the cable in direct contact with the concrete and use masonry(I think i saw masonry staples in lowes next to the wood staples these are for the 14/2 I am running not the other kind of staples I use in the shop). The exsisitng wiring from 1969 is all run on a wooden board that is nailed to the concrete except for the outlet boxes that are fixed to the cinder block wall.
Oh 1 more thing when I daisy chain along to the next outlet do I need to return the wire to the ceiling and then back down or can I go horizontal to the next outlet?

Thanks in advance or any advice

Sandie.:no:

See less See more
#2 ·