Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 08:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 69
Share |
Default

basement wires


I am finishing my basement. I have replaced those metal conduits with romax and plan to build a soffit for them to stay for easy access.

I didn't drill holes and just attached them to the bottom of the joists. Is this ok? Do I need to staple them to the bottom of the joists? Please tell me anything wrong there.

It is not done yet, that big conduit will be replaced next weekend.
Attached Thumbnails
basement wires-img_9336.jpg   basement wires-img_9338.jpg   basement wires-img_9339.jpg  


Last edited by diy001; 02-05-2013 at 09:06 PM.
diy001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,884
Default

basement wires


Go back and add your location to your profile, some areas require it to be run in conduit.
Whole lot harder to finish out the basement with it runs like that.


Last edited by joecaption; 02-05-2013 at 09:33 PM.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:24 PM   #3
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 145
Default

basement wires


Hope you're not in the Chicago area
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 69
Default

basement wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
some areas require it to be run in conduit.
even inside the covered soffit?
diy001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:28 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

basement wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by diy001 View Post
even inside the covered soffit?
Yes some areas require it.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 69
Default

basement wires


I am in MA.
diy001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:20 PM   #7
Blank
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
Default

basement wires


Looks like classic DIY electrical work...
Baxter01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:51 AM   #8
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 182
Default

basement wires


You could of saved time and bored holes to pull wire, those hangers are usually used in commercial buildings with mc cable
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:08 AM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

basement wires


I would consider those cables to be bundled and they would need to be derated. If you are building a soffet, they can be stapled to the bottom of the joist.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:25 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 798
Default

basement wires


What are the wire nuts in the panel for? Not illegal in most places, but yehck.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:58 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 69
Default

basement wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegp View Post
What are the wire nuts in the panel for? Not illegal in most places, but yehck.
that's temporary. they will be removed later.

diy001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement moisture/humidity issues amason2308 Remodeling 2 09-12-2012 08:27 AM
Basement Ext Wall - Will Rigid Insulation allow my wall to dry inward? COLORADOMTNMAN Insulation 10 01-15-2012 10:09 PM
Running from outside service panel into basement ksl420 Electrical 0 03-21-2011 11:30 AM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions mindle Electrical 28 01-07-2010 08:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.