Basement Wires - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 09:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 75
Default

basement wires


I am finishing my basement. I have replaced those metal conduits with romax and plan to build a soffit for them to stay for easy access.

I didn't drill holes and just attached them to the bottom of the joists. Is this ok? Do I need to staple them to the bottom of the joists? Please tell me anything wrong there.

It is not done yet, that big conduit will be replaced next weekend.
Attached Thumbnails
basement wires-img_9336.jpg   basement wires-img_9338.jpg   basement wires-img_9339.jpg  

Advertisement


Last edited by diy001; 02-05-2013 at 10:06 PM.
diy001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,798
Rewards Points: 712
Default

basement wires


Go back and add your location to your profile, some areas require it to be run in conduit.
Whole lot harder to finish out the basement with it runs like that.

Advertisement


Last edited by joecaption; 02-05-2013 at 10:33 PM.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:24 PM   #3
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 81
Default

basement wires


Hope you're not in the Chicago area
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 75
Default

basement wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
some areas require it to be run in conduit.
even inside the covered soffit?
diy001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:28 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

basement wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by diy001 View Post
even inside the covered soffit?
Yes some areas require it.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 75
Default

basement wires


I am in MA.
diy001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 11:20 PM   #7
Blank
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

basement wires


Looks like classic DIY electrical work...
Baxter01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:51 AM   #8
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

basement wires


You could of saved time and bored holes to pull wire, those hangers are usually used in commercial buildings with mc cable
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:08 AM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

basement wires


I would consider those cables to be bundled and they would need to be derated. If you are building a soffet, they can be stapled to the bottom of the joist.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:25 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 764
Default

basement wires


What are the wire nuts in the panel for? Not illegal in most places, but yehck.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 11:58 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 75
Default

basement wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegp View Post
What are the wire nuts in the panel for? Not illegal in most places, but yehck.
that's temporary. they will be removed later.

Advertisement

diy001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement moisture/humidity issues amason2308 Remodeling 2 09-12-2012 09:27 AM
Basement Ext Wall - Will Rigid Insulation allow my wall to dry inward? COLORADOMTNMAN Insulation 10 01-15-2012 11:09 PM
Running from outside service panel into basement ksl420 Electrical 0 03-21-2011 12:30 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 08:07 PM
Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions mindle Electrical 28 01-07-2010 09:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts