Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2012, 10:57 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 495
Share |
Default

Basement Rough In


I am currently doing the electric rough in for my basement. At this stage I want to allow for easy future changes. One of the changes I want to allow for is to an electric dryer. I currently have and plan to keep using my gas dryer. I want to run a separate circuit for the dryer to allow for an electric dryer in the future. However, I do not know what type of wiring todays electric dryers require.

Question: should I run 12/2, 12/3, 10/2, or 10/3? I will keep using my gas dryer and run it on a 20 Amp breaker. Distance is minimal and I have all wire.

B

Beepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 11:08 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,736
Default

Basement Rough In


10/3 with a ground on a 30 amp breaker is pretty normal.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 12:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 495
Default

Basement Rough In


That's what I was figuring. Put that in and push the red off to the side in the panel.

Thanks.

B
Beepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 01:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Festus, MO
Posts: 39
Default

Basement Rough In


Make sure you put in a big enough box at the dryer. A dryer receptacle will not fit in a standard single gang box.
cube17576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 01:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 495
Default

Basement Rough In


That's good to know. I was going to have a double box, and have both the dryer and washer plugged into it, each on separate circuits.

So I need to have the washer circuit in a separate box from the dryer circuit? What type of box would I need for the dryer circuit? Being I only have a gas dryer now and no plans to buy an electric dryer, I do not know what type of receptable I would have. Are they all the same for electric dryers? Could I just run 10/3 to its own box now and if upgraded in the future, a new "old work" box could be put in?

B
Beepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:11 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Basement Rough In


There's no need to have the washer and dryer on a separate circuit. Put your existing washer and dryer on a single circuit and have a second box there with the electric dryer receptacle in it for the future. A normal 2 gang box will work fine for this.
Calc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Calc For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (08-02-2012)
Old 08-02-2012, 04:11 PM   #7
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

Basement Rough In


There are a few different styles for dryer recepticles.
If you plan on installing a flush mount recep., you'll need a separate box.
They are a bit larger, and im not sure if a standard cover plate would fit.

Since this is a hypothetical future install, you may consider a surface mount recep. when the time comes.
This way you just remove the 20amp recep. and run the 10/3 thru the back of the surface mount one.

Another option, install a flush mount dryer recep next to the 20amp one.
Now youre set up for either design.
__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:22 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,897
Default

Basement Rough In


Quote:
Originally Posted by Calc View Post
There's no need to have the washer and dryer on a separate circuit. Put your existing washer and dryer on a single circuit and have a second box there with the electric dryer receptacle in it for the future. A normal 2 gang box will work fine for this.
Seriously, it's that easy.

I use these for dryers and ranges...


stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (08-02-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rough in for Basement TBolt Plumbing 8 12-13-2011 05:56 PM
New rough opening to basement - spiral staircase benjamincall Building & Construction 8 07-16-2010 05:53 PM
Basement wall issues. Need rough idead of fix. meltdowndave Building & Construction 6 10-03-2009 11:24 AM
Basement bathroom rough in plumbing ferris13 Plumbing 5 09-28-2009 10:06 AM
Best way to clean rough basement concrete floor Red Squirrel Flooring 3 09-21-2009 06:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.