Basement Renovation - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2011, 10:17 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Basement renovation


I am doing a basement renovation and had a question with the wiring layout for my lighting. I am going to have 9 lights total on the same circuit which will include 7 pots which should not exceed my max voltage on one 15amp breaker. The current lights are wired to a double gang box at the bottom of my steps controlling the basement lights and a light at the base of the steps. My pic shows how I want to run my lighting using the existing wiring but I have a concern over how many wires I will have running out of the 2 gang box. Currently it has 4 wires for the 3 way switch and basement lights, I need to add two more to split up the lighting to the other rooms. Im sure they would all fit in the box but would this setup be to code or would I have to rethink my wiring and centralize the live wire from my break to ease the amount of wiring per box? My location is Ontario. Help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: bmp 1.bmp (64.6 KB, 39 views)

Advertisement

sketchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:41 AM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Basement renovation


I see 6 cables and I assume there will be two devices (switches). #14 counts 2.0 per wire and each device counts 4.0 All grounds count as 2.0 and all internal clamps count 2.0
6 x 2 = 12
Gnds = 2
Dev. = 8
clamps =2
So it looks like you need a 24 cu in box if I have everything..

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 12:55 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,386
Rewards Points: 3,566
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Basement renovation


The three way switch will need a three wire cable so 2 more for the extra wire.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting out a concrete basement floor jeffhoward001 Building & Construction 21 01-17-2012 09:51 PM
Basement Bathroom Renovation zoso13 Building & Construction 1 10-22-2010 07:26 AM
Insulating basement ceiling - your recommendations? jtmann HVAC 8 11-24-2009 05:44 PM
Sunlight for a Basement Room prglor Remodeling 1 08-31-2008 05:29 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts