Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-24-2012, 06:46 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25
Lightbulb

Basement Recessed Lighting

Hey all, first post. I am a novice to intermediate in terms of electrical work. I have changed out light fixtures, ceiling exhaust light combos, switches and receptacles. I have added dimmers, spliced cables and a few other things. I also have a Home Depot wiring book!

So, I am having my cousin frame out my basement for the long overdue project of finishing it. I had an electrician friend run 5 'zones' on a single 15 Amp line. That means he had 5 'on / off' switches with dimmers. 4 of them controlled 4 tracks for track lighting and 1 controlled a pair of bulbs in a back room. That was my initial basement overhaul - we are now taking it to the next level.

Now, I want to just open the 'gang box(?)' for each of the tracks and connect 4-5 high hats to each (actually I would attach 7 to one and 4-5 on the rest.) for a total of 22 recessed lights.

Here are the questions:

1. If my Amp calculations and history are correct, then 24 50W bulbs would produce 1200 Watts. With the rule of thumb 100 Watts per Amp - it seems I'm good but everyone from my cousin to the people at home depot are bugging out... "24 lights on a single 15 amp circuit?!?!?!?"

I should mention the reason I got this idea is because there were 4-5 50W bulbs in each of the tracks already for years and we've never had a problem.

And, to boot, I have no intention of putting regular bulbs in - I want to buy the equivalent size LED's that burn at 9.5W each and DIM!