Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 09:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Basement power in Ohio


I have 200 amp service and the box is on a basement wall. I have installed some outlets and lights and wired to the box. All of this was done with the yellow 12/2 wire and 20 amp breakers. I ran one breaker and one outlet for a clothes washer plug. Ran another with a shop light and 4 gang outlet. My real question is how many outlets can I have on one breaker and can I have a shop light on it also? I ran the wire along the joists(unfinished basement) and where I made drops down to an outlet I used metal conduit and metal boxes to seal the splices and wire nuts. I mounted the outlet boxes 18 inches(bottom) from the floor. Does this sound good? Is there something I've done incorrectly? It all works well and looks good. Thanks!
Tallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 07:00 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,680
Default

Basement power in Ohio


The circuit for the washer/dryer should be dedicated. The other general purpose circuit may have receptacles combined with lighting. The actual number of receptacles is unlimited by code, governed only by common sense as well as anticipated loading of the circuit.

Last edited by brric; 03-24-2011 at 07:03 AM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting out a concrete basement floor jeffhoward001 Building & Construction 21 01-17-2012 08:51 PM
A few Q's on Finishing My Basement - Is there a FAQ on this? ossrocks Remodeling 6 01-07-2009 12:21 PM
Basement - need to bust up about 1 ft deeper FallenAngel Building & Construction 7 08-15-2007 09:09 AM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM
no power upstairs only in basement and 1st floor. dstarks Electrical 1 12-14-2004 07:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.