Basement Power In Ohio - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 10:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Basement power in Ohio


I have 200 amp service and the box is on a basement wall. I have installed some outlets and lights and wired to the box. All of this was done with the yellow 12/2 wire and 20 amp breakers. I ran one breaker and one outlet for a clothes washer plug. Ran another with a shop light and 4 gang outlet. My real question is how many outlets can I have on one breaker and can I have a shop light on it also? I ran the wire along the joists(unfinished basement) and where I made drops down to an outlet I used metal conduit and metal boxes to seal the splices and wire nuts. I mounted the outlet boxes 18 inches(bottom) from the floor. Does this sound good? Is there something I've done incorrectly? It all works well and looks good. Thanks!

Advertisement

Tallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 08:00 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,975
Rewards Points: 2,206
Default

Basement power in Ohio


The circuit for the washer/dryer should be dedicated. The other general purpose circuit may have receptacles combined with lighting. The actual number of receptacles is unlimited by code, governed only by common sense as well as anticipated loading of the circuit.

Advertisement


Last edited by brric; 03-24-2011 at 08:03 AM.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting out a concrete basement floor jeffhoward001 Building & Construction 21 01-17-2012 09:51 PM
A few Q's on Finishing My Basement - Is there a FAQ on this? ossrocks Remodeling 6 01-07-2009 01:21 PM
Basement - need to bust up about 1 ft deeper FallenAngel Building & Construction 7 08-15-2007 10:09 AM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 11:23 PM
no power upstairs only in basement and 1st floor. dstarks Electrical 1 12-14-2004 08:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts