Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2010, 05:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Basement Outlets


I have a basement that is half finished. I am planning on putting in a few standard outlets along the wall dividing the two sides. The outlets will be facing the finished side. Issue is, there is no wall covering on the finished side so when I put in the new outlets, the backside of the outlets will be exposed on the unfinished side. Is this any sort of NEC code issue?

Atskodinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Basement Outlets


I'm confused about u saying u want to put the outlets on the finished side but it is exposed....if its finished, what do u mean by exposed? If ur question is "the back of the outlet box will be exposed, is this legal per the nec?" Then ur answer is yes

heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Basement Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by heartlessmcfly
I'm confused about u saying u want to put the outlets on the finished side but it is exposed....if its finished, what do u mean by exposed? If ur question is "the back of the outlet box will be exposed, is this legal per the nec?" Then ur answer is yes
Sorry, should gave been more clear.
Yes, backside of the outlet box is what I meant.
Atskodinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Basement Outlets


Ur fine...
heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 201
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Basement Outlets


I'm sincerely hoping the outlets are going to be in boxes and not just screwed to the wall.

Assuming they're in boxes, yes, fine. Otherwise, stop playing with wires before you hurt someone.
emolatur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 11:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Basement Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by emolatur
I'm sincerely hoping the outlets are going to be in boxes and not just screwed to the wall.

Assuming they're in boxes, yes, fine. Otherwise, stop playing with wires before you hurt someone.
Yes, in boxes. Apologize for not being clear enough. Thanks for the advice.

Atskodinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting out a concrete basement floor jeffhoward001 Building & Construction 21 01-17-2012 09:51 PM
Definition of a finished basement vs. unfinished hectorlopez Building & Construction 2 01-31-2010 09:31 AM
Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions mindle Electrical 28 01-07-2010 09:49 AM
basement issues - tile, mastic, moisture pfisch Flooring 6 12-01-2008 02:35 PM
Basement - need to bust up about 1 ft deeper FallenAngel Building & Construction 7 08-15-2007 10:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.