Basement Light Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2008, 05:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Basement Light Switch


What I'd like to be able to do: Use the switch at the top of the stairs to turn off the all the lights at once.

My problem: Switch at the top of the stairs controls only one half the basement lights (West side) while the other half (East side) is managed by two switches. The East side switches are wired such that if both are off, you can turn the lights on from either one. Using switch A for example, you can only turn them back off by going to switch A. Switch B is non-functional.

So while my electrical experience is shallow, I know enough to understand I've got two circuits that currently have nothing to do with one another. My question is this: Is there a product out there that will allow me to remotely/wirelessly connect these two circuits together such that I can stand at the top of the stairs and control all three switches with just one of them?

I already have two of my living room lights using remote controlled outlets, but shouldn't the same principle apply to light switches as well?

Thanks for your time
Tim

Advertisement

tabwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 05:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Basement Light Switch


Quote:
I know enough to understand I've got two circuits that currently have nothing to do with one another
Not necessarily. If one circuit breaker controls all the lights, a simple rewire may do what you are asking for.

If the feed for the East lights comes from the West lights switch box and doesn't continue on to any receptacles, it would be easy.

There is really not enough info in your post to point you in the right direction.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 08:40 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Basement Light Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by tabwoods View Post
So while my electrical experience is shallow, I know enough to understand I've got two circuits that currently have nothing to do with one another. My question is this: Is there a product out there that will allow me to remotely/wirelessly connect these two circuits together such that I can stand at the top of the stairs and control all three switches with just one of them?

Tim;

What you can try is to turn the lights on, then then turn off the break in your main box that you think supplies them, see if they all turn off when you switch off one breaker, or if you really have to turn off multiple breakers to get all the lights to turn off.

If they are all on one breaker, then this would likely be a fairly simple change for an electrician to make. If they are on multiple breakers, it would be a bit more complicated and likely involve more costs.

This is too complicated of a change for someone that does not have electrical experience. However, you can check the breakers and find out if they are all powered by the same breaker.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 09:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Basement Light Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Tim;

What you can try is to turn the lights on, then then turn off the break in your main box that you think supplies them, see if they all turn off when you switch off one breaker, or if you really have to turn off multiple breakers to get all the lights to turn off.

If they are all on one breaker, then this would likely be a fairly simple change for an electrician to make. If they are on multiple breakers, it would be a bit more complicated and likely involve more costs.

This is too complicated of a change for someone that does not have electrical experience. However, you can check the breakers and find out if they are all powered by the same breaker.

Jamie
I've rarely seen an "all lighting" circuit in any residential home. That being said, you would more than likely be turning off several outlets with the lights as well, which may or may not be an issue. But if you have a dehumidifier in the basement, or a computer that is on all the time, etc these things would not do well being controlled by a switch.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no power going to the light switch baseballfan Electrical 18 09-08-2008 06:35 PM
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 07:22 PM
Problem changing light switch grgryl Electrical 14 08-10-2008 02:26 PM
Connecting a Ceiling fan to a Light Switch AceAvenue Electrical 6 06-03-2008 04:06 PM
Adding one recessed light to exsisting switch... JayBird Electrical 1 04-03-2008 08:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts