Basement Light Circuit Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2011, 10:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SW Ontario
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Basement Light Circuit Help


Hello,

I have an unfinished basement that has a light circuit shown below:


I'm replacing the junction box "B" feeding the current fluorescent light partly because I'm putting a bigger light in for my wife and partly because the current junction box looks like this:


The oddity here I think is that the line from the panel comes into junction "B" then another line is run straight to junction "D" without feeding anything in junction "B". The line feed is then switched at junction "D" and a switched feed is then looped back to junction "B" and all the other lights.

Why would it be done this way? It seems to me that it would just be easier to run the line straight to junction "D" without going through "B" or make "B" the switch point.

My main question is: when I change the box, can I leave it like this and still be kosher with Ontario code or should I move the switch loop to "B" and eliminate the line feed between "B" and "D".

Thanks, and I hope this all made sense!

Advertisement

pete0403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 11:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Basement Light Circuit Help


Perhaps some it if was added over time....and adding a line rather than running a new one was a simpler plan. Use a 4" box.

Advertisement

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 09:45 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SW Ontario
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Basement Light Circuit Help


So it's fine to leave the wiring as-is? (except putting in the new 4" box)
pete0403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 07:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SW Ontario
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Basement Light Circuit Help


I just re-did the box and left everything as-is except instead of a fixture I put an outlet up there so I could hang and plug two worklights into it.

It worked well except I cut one of the hot wires by accident in a clamp on the new box. Having a fuse blow in your hand with a loud bang and smoke from the box is not good for the heart! I won't make that mistake again
pete0403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Circuit trips with 2 light switches sylercider Electrical 3 12-05-2010 11:09 PM
Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit? Mi Feller Electrical 26 07-22-2010 05:42 PM
Tie into existing bath GFI circuit for new basement bath GFI? 8roty Electrical 8 07-28-2009 12:38 AM
Circuit advice for finishing basement Straightgrain Electrical 16 03-25-2009 10:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts