Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2012, 03:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


Sorry if this is a noobie question, but i've never posted on this forum before. i'm trying to figure out what's the best way to get electrical and better lighting in my basement. there are a few outlets inside the cinder blocks on the front side of the house but otherwise nothing else really there. a prior owner framed up some drywall about halfway through and put two outlets on that wall, but they face one side. Also there is an electrical line running down in the corner for a dehimidifier and a sump pump. Those are the only outlets in the entire 2500 square feet. In addition, there are individual light bulbs at probably 15 foot intervals mounted on the joists. the lighting is terrible, as the side that doesn't have drywall also doesn't have any daylight.

i'm wondering what it takes to run electrical. i'd like to have outlets, i'd like to have better lighting, but this being an old house, i don't know what it might require and whether it's better to just leave it to a pro. if so, how much would it cost to have someone do that. for reference this is in atlanta.

thanks all.

hebron1427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:46 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,697
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


Depends on what your ablities are whether you leave this to a pro or not.
What part of Atlanta?

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


sandy springs.

i have a mechanical engineering degree. i understand the basics of how to DIY, and i am capable of following directions well, especially when it comes to technical applications. does that give you enough information?
hebron1427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:52 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,697
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


Have you completed any electrical projects?

Sandy Springs is a little out of my area.

Do a search and you will find where others have post layouts and then asked questions.
Find a good book or to on the basics of home wiring, and then decide if you want to tackle this yourself.

It would not be hard, but you said an older house.
How much older?

Do you have 2 wire receptacles or AL wire?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 04:44 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


how would i check for any of that? the house was built in the late 50s to early 60s.
hebron1427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:23 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


Pop the cover of one of those plugs off and see what kind of wire is in there. Check the addition and the original wall.

12 plugs is the maximum on a circuit I believe and a 15 amp breaker can't have over 1800 watts and some change I forget the exact number. Aim for %80 of that.

Extend those plugs through and change those bulbs for fixtures if the box can support it. Your plugs and lights might be on the same circuit though.
Wirepuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:26 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


easy enough. i'll check next time i get a minute. i know there are probably 6 or 7 light bulbs on one light switch and another couple on the switch next to it. it's likely that the entire basement is on one circuit.
hebron1427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:28 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,723
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wirepuller View Post

12 plugs is the maximum on a circuit
no such limit on receptacles, at least in the USA and residential...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:29 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
no such limit on receptacles, at least in the USA and residential...
it seems like smart advice though....generally?
hebron1427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:40 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,723
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by hebron1427 View Post
it seems like smart advice though....generally?

Not really, in the real world, they don't amount to much load, if you have plans for a specific piece of equipment, then you should make plans accordingly to meet the specific appliance electrical requirements... So in a nutshell, general purpose receptacles are just that, general purpose.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 10:16 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


Canadian here. Houses we just do by room unless ya you know you're gonna need a lot of juice for something.

How often do you go over 12?
Wirepuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 10:37 PM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Basement Electrical and Lighting


We can go over 12 too but there's only a couple exceptions such as knowing the exact load that will be run on each receptacle.

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LED Pot Lighting Canadian Electrical Code? JMT TECH Electrical 1 07-16-2011 10:53 AM
Help With Basement Lighting Circuit JDC4NU Electrical 6 03-01-2011 08:53 AM
Outdoor backyard electrical for lighting, water fountain, shed nabz Electrical 1 05-25-2009 09:58 PM
Basement Renovation Project Howdy Electrical 6 03-13-2008 11:07 AM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio (cross-posted in electrical) 1655graff Remodeling 1 11-21-2007 12:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.