Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2006, 10:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Basement Electrical- Flexible Conduit?


We are finishing our basement, and it is a new home, with the outside basement walls "formed" to look like brick, we are leaving the outside walls as they are (painted of course). The interior new walls are drywall.

For the walls that are the formed concrete, we'd like to add some outlets. Can we use flexible conduit to run to the enclosed boxes, or do we need to use the rigid conduit? We are in Ohio (don't know if code might be different in other states).

Thank you!

H Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 02:48 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Basement Electrical- Flexible Conduit?


Flexible conduit is ususally limited to 3 ft in alot of areas. Best bet wouuld be to call your village as ask.

Renovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 08:42 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Basement Electrical- Flexible Conduit?


Most flexible conduit/tubing can be of unlimited lenght if a ground conductor is run inside. I would not recommend it though. I'd use EMT thinwall conduit or PVC sch80.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob question for basement finish electrical dtmbizzle Electrical 16 07-11-2007 07:08 AM
Conduit through basement wall. bdalekid Electrical 13 01-31-2007 08:35 PM
Finishing basement - electrical code ??? normwannabe Electrical 1 01-23-2006 07:48 PM
pulling wire through old flexible conduit cbray Electrical 1 05-20-2005 03:55 PM
Running Conduit in new basement framed walls tben Electrical 3 12-10-2004 11:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.