Basement Electrical Code - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2013, 03:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North GA
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

basement electrical code


I live in north GA and slowly finishing my basement. I have construction experience and do have some common basics about wiring.

I know, any new bedrooms must be on AFCI breakers. I actually planned on doing it in all new rooms to the basement.

I read that you have to have GFCI outlets in basement. Is that right?

Bathrooms need GFCI outlets, or anything near water.

And how many outlets can i put in a room. I planned on making everything for 20 amp.

I just want to make sure everything is correct and not fly by night.

Advertisement

princevlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 03:55 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

basement electrical code


Quote:
Originally Posted by princevlad View Post

I know, any new bedrooms must be on AFCI breakers. I actually planned on doing it in all new rooms to the basement.
Pretty much all areas that do not require GFI protection now do require AFCI protection. Not just bedrooms.


Quote:
Originally Posted by princevlad View Post
I read that you have to have GFCI outlets in basement. Is that right?
ALL unfinished basement areas.



Quote:
Originally Posted by princevlad View Post
Bathrooms need GFCI outlets, or anything near water.
Yes, and pretty much.



Quote:
Originally Posted by princevlad View Post
And how many outlets can i put in a room. I planned on making everything for 20 amp.
As many as you want. And I would do 15A for lights, but it's your call.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
princevlad (02-13-2013)
Old 02-13-2013, 04:12 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North GA
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

basement electrical code


thanks a bunch
princevlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 07:38 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North GA
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

basement electrical code


And its ok to run the outlet in the basement bathroom to the upstairs bathroom outlet that is GFCI?
princevlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:42 PM   #5
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 77
Default

basement electrical code


You can use an upstairs recp only if the upstairs recp is the not connected to fans or lights in the bathroom.
I don't have the code reference in front of me but if you need It I can get it for you.
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:13 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North GA
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

basement electrical code


Yea, i think the outlet is coming of the switch or lights; In both upstairs bathrooms.

And that one outlet(GFCI protected),in the future bathroom, has to have its own dedicated breaker now?

Last edited by princevlad; 02-13-2013 at 11:15 PM.
princevlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:23 PM   #7
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 77
Default

basement electrical code


Or, you can run a 20 amp circuit and power the entire downstairs bathroom. Lights, fan and recps.
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:24 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

basement electrical code


You can put the entire bathroom on one 20A breaker, but that circuit cannot leave that bathroom.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:28 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North GA
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

basement electrical code


Quote:
Originally Posted by deverson View Post
Or, you can run a 20 amp circuit and power the entire downstairs bathroom. Lights, fan and recps.


Thats what i planned on. Then read somewhere of it not being code to run the recp off of the lights now.

I am not going to be jerry riggin anything. But i will take the word of someone who knows what they are doing.
princevlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:30 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North GA
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

basement electrical code


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You can put the entire bathroom on one 20A breaker, but that circuit cannot leave that bathroom.
understood
princevlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:33 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

basement electrical code


Its a little bit confusing to some people...

Bathroom receptacles need to be GFI protected and on a 20A circuit. That 20A circuit can feed one entire bathroom or the receptacles (GFI) in multiple bathrooms. If the circuit contains the receptacles of more than one bathroom, it cannot contain anything but those bathroom receptacles. That circuit can never have lighting in areas not in the bathroom.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (02-14-2013), princevlad (02-13-2013)
Old 02-13-2013, 11:39 PM   #12
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 77
Default

basement electrical code


Right on the money!
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to deverson For This Useful Post:
princevlad (02-13-2013)
Old 02-13-2013, 11:54 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North GA
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

basement electrical code


thanks for the fast concise replies guys. Glad i found this site.
princevlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:55 PM   #14
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,797
Rewards Points: 2,268
Default

basement electrical code


Quote:
Originally Posted by deverson View Post
Or, you can run a 20 amp circuit and power the entire downstairs bathroom. Lights, fan and recps.
Which is great until it's 0 dark thirty and the gfi trips.
Keep lights and receptacles apart.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:02 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North GA
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

basement electrical code


then there's that

Advertisement

princevlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Basement Bathroom / Laundry Room Electrical Circuit(s) Rookie11 Electrical 5 12-11-2012 09:52 PM
breaker panel positioning regulations orobono Electrical 1 10-27-2012 04:25 PM
Exposed electrical wires under sink in basement Dizzle Electrical 18 02-12-2012 05:35 PM
electrical code tradtke Electrical 6 08-02-2011 12:11 PM
building code for basement 2nd staircase ninghai Building & Construction 5 01-06-2010 05:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts