Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2011, 09:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

basement bathroom wiring


Hi All, I am adding a bathroom to my basement and have a couple questions about how to wire it. I have attached a drawing of bathroom. I have a light above the shower which I have been told needs to be run off GFCI. I am only planning on having the one GFCI outlet and I believe that it needs to be on its own circuit with 12 gauge wire. So I am wondering how to go about doing this?
For the rest of the lights and the fan I was just planning on running 14 gauge wire from a separate circuit. So there would just be the two circuits.

Please let me know if you can help.
Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
basement bathroom wiring-bathroom.jpg  

fordross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:30 AM   #2
Member
 
iminaquagmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 370
Rewards Points: 0
Default

basement bathroom wiring


You need to have a 20A GFCI receptacle circuit. You can put the lights on it if you want but then the circuit cannot leave the bathroom. If you put the lights on the GFCI circuit, don't put them on the load side of the GFCI or else if it trips, you won't have lights. The shower is what you want on the Load side. In my own bathroom I ran two circuits but later put them together at the breaker because it didn't make sense to have two dedicated circuits IMO. My shower lights go from the switch through a dead front GFCI next to it, then to the lights.

BTW, this isn't actually an NEC requirement, just a good idea. It would only be a local amendment or a manufacturer requirement.

Also remember you must use a shower rated trim for this light.

iminaquagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:37 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,577
Rewards Points: 82
Default

basement bathroom wiring


You need to post your location. Rules are different for different locations(Canada, USA).
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:04 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

basement bathroom wiring


Thanks,
I am in Milwaukee, WI.

Just to make sure I understand. I will have one circuit with the GFCI outlet. Then a 20A GFCI circuit that would have the shower light and the rest of the lights on it. So I would run 12 gauge wire from the GFCI circuit to the bathroom for the shower light, then a separate wire from the GFCI circuit to the bathroom for the rest of the lights? Is ok to run 14 gauge from the 20A circuit.

I am also a little confused about the dead front GFCI?

Thanks again
fordross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:39 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,588
Rewards Points: 10
Default

basement bathroom wiring


On the 20 amp circuit all the wiring must be #12.

A dead-front GFI has the sensing circuitry of a regular GFI, it just does not have the slots to allow you to plug into.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 12:09 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,577
Rewards Points: 82
Default

basement bathroom wiring


You could put the entire bathroom on one 20 circuit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 04:03 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

basement bathroom wiring


So pretty much wire it up like this? Sorry, I am very visual person and need a picture before I be confident about this.

Thanks for all the responses!
Attached Thumbnails
basement bathroom wiring-bathroom2.jpg  
fordross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 06:05 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,577
Rewards Points: 82
Default

basement bathroom wiring


Why three feeds. One should be enough.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring for half bath in basement ELurie Electrical 5 08-06-2011 09:06 PM
Basement bathroom rough in efrobert Plumbing 2 06-23-2011 04:54 PM
Basement Bathroom wiring? philly529 Electrical 3 02-24-2010 09:46 AM
Basement Bathroom Costs ktulu05 Remodeling 15 04-20-2009 01:24 PM
Plumbing Help for New Basement Bathroom morphers82 Plumbing 2 03-14-2009 12:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.