Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2010, 08:32 AM   #16
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,534
Share |
Default

Baseboard heater wiring question


The baseboard does NOT need a 12/3. 12/2 is fine. Baseboards don't use a neutral. The only need two wires + ground.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:57 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 438
Default

Baseboard heater wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The baseboard does NOT need a 12/3. 12/2 is fine. Baseboards don't use a neutral. The only need two wires + ground.
Yes, I realize that. If I re-wire I'll use 12/2, even though I'm told 14/2 is fine. The only reason I'd use 12/3, is if I re-use the existing wiring. ...or if I use the junction box idea so that I can run a window a/c off the same circuit, as I believe they do require a neutral and 2 hots.
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 01:11 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 438
Default

Baseboard heater wiring question


Well, some of my job just potentially got a little easier. It seems the only other outlet fed by the GFI is one outlet in the bedroom and the bedroom will likely be gutted of lathe and plaster this winter so it can be insulated and rocked. The best part is the wire supplying the bedroom outlet is easily accessible in the attic as it was lazily ran, so I could tie it into an outlet in the attic for now. The box for the GFI is extra deep, so it shouldn't be a problem to just make the BB Heater connections properly, for now, in that box. Much easier than running all new wiring!!

The best part is another, still active GFI, in the bathroom doesn't seem to trip, when the button is pushed. So, I'm guessing it needs to be replaced as I believe that feeds the receptacle by the sink! NICE!!!
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 02:34 PM   #19
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,534
Default

Baseboard heater wiring question


Bedroom and bathroom are not permitted under current to be on the same circuit. Bathroom must be a dedicated 20 amp circuit that feeds only the bathroom. Bedroom can have other items on it and MUST be AFCI protected.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 02:26 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 438
Default

Baseboard heater wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Bedroom and bathroom are not permitted under current to be on the same circuit. Bathroom must be a dedicated 20 amp circuit that feeds only the bathroom. Bedroom can have other items on it and MUST be AFCI protected.
My guess was the way it was, was done long before current code and very possibly never inspected. My best guess is 80's +/- 5yrs. As for if I tied it into the attic circuit, it'd only be a temp solution until I could find the time to get it re-wired correctly and place the bathroom on it's own circuit.
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:32 PM   #21
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,534
Default

Baseboard heater wiring question


It may be legal if you leave it alone. However you said you were gutting the bedroom and running new cable. That means you need to meet current codes.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:28 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 438
Default

Baseboard heater wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
It may be legal if you leave it alone. However you said you were gutting the bedroom and running new cable. That means you need to meet current codes.
When I gut the bedroom, it will meet current codes. I'm just saying for now, it'll have to work.... Most likely the bedroom, won't even be hooked back up until I gut it, unless I do it just for temporary power.

Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a 240V baseboard heater T-stat criggs Electrical 3 05-10-2010 08:27 PM
Wiring Question bahaisamurai Electrical 3 02-22-2009 11:06 AM
Baseboard radiator question timothy918 HVAC 6 11-29-2008 04:00 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
240/208 Heater wiring Question fburke Electrical 2 06-20-2005 12:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.