Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2011, 01:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Baseboard Heater Thermostat Ground Wire ?


Hello,

I'm replacing all the Square D 240V electric baseboard heaters and thermostats in my house. I found out that they were recalled and are a fire hazard.. nice eh?

I have one question about the ground wire to the new Honeywell thermostat. The old Square D thermostat had a screw for the ground wire, and the load and common wires were screwed on as well. The new Honeywell thermostats have the (2) black and (2) red wires soldered on. There isn't a place to connect the ground. I've already wired up one of the bedrooms with the new heaters and the new thermostat and all works with the ground wire simpy twisted back onto the rest of the ground wires and wiring nut in the wall box. However, it's a tight fit to cram the new thermostat back into the wall box with the extra additional red and black wires from the thermostat, and (4) more wiring nuts from the load and common wiring. There was ample room with the old thermostat and simply screwing the load and common wires to the back of the thermostat.

My question is this... if the ground wire isn't needed for the new thermostat can I simply clip off the ground wires at the cable and remove the wiring nut so I'll have more room in the wall box ?


Thanks in advance


Last edited by sciron; 01-08-2011 at 01:24 PM.
sciron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 01:40 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Baseboard Heater Thermostat Ground Wire ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sciron View Post
My question is this... if the ground wire isn't needed for the new thermostat can I simply clip off the ground wires at the cable and remove the wiring nut so I'll have more room in the wall box ?
NO most definitely not.

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 01:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Default

Baseboard Heater Thermostat Ground Wire ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy View Post
NO most definitely not.

Ok, so even though the ground wire isn't connected to the new thermostat, the ground wires from the load and common cables have to be connected in order to complete the ground circuit to the baseboard heater ?
sciron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 01:59 PM   #4
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 762
Default

Baseboard Heater Thermostat Ground Wire ?


Correct, all ground wires entering a box must be connected together, and also connected to the box itself if it's a metal box.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to McSteve For This Useful Post:
sciron (02-19-2011)
Old 01-08-2011, 02:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Default

Baseboard Heater Thermostat Ground Wire ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by McSteve View Post
Correct, all ground wires entering a box must be connected together, and also connected to the box itself if it's a metal box.

Ok.. thanks for the answers.
sciron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 10:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,932
Default

Baseboard Heater Thermostat Ground Wire ?


Never clip off wires entering a box. Someone may find a use for them later.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
sciron (02-19-2011)
Old 02-19-2011, 05:28 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Default

Baseboard Heater Thermostat Ground Wire ?


Ended up putting all new baseboard heaters and thermostats in my house. Thanks for the advice and help.

sciron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pilot on Williams millivolt wall heater goes out every 8 to 16 hours wornways HVAC 30 06-22-2011 03:29 PM
Ground wire behind baseboard disx2000 Electrical 8 05-30-2009 11:51 AM
wiring a 240V baseboard heater 777 Electrical 10 05-17-2009 10:47 AM
Thermostat for electric baseboard heat 4 wire to 2 wire rossl56 HVAC 10 01-05-2009 10:05 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.