Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2013, 07:04 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Baseboard heater questions


I'm pretty sure (not 100%) that those breakers are rated for two conductors of the same size. Either way, pigtailing the wires isn't a big deal. I see you have two open spaces in the main panel. You could properly feed a 40 or 50A sub panel from there.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 07:10 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Baseboard heater questions


There are also some double tapped neutral/grounds
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 07:32 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Baseboard heater questions


Ok, I am not going to mess with the existing subpanel. I realize I should probably call an electrician and get it properly taken out or replaced. But we all know I'm just going to leave it as is and forget about it unless someone convinces me its a hazard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
They make Pushmatic tandem breakers. I don't know if your panel is rated for them and they are not cheap, but that is one suggestion.

The other is contact an electrical contractor for a quote on a new service.
What if I go this route? I see some on ebay. Should I buy a couple of twin 15amp single pole and clear some room in the main panel? If I clear some room, what size breaker will I need for the 240V heaters? Is 14-2 wire ok?

Grrr. I have a feeling I'm going to have to pay for some upgrades to the main service and panel. This would be the proper thing to do.

Last edited by frohboy33; 02-12-2013 at 07:34 PM.
frohboy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 07:42 PM   #19
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Baseboard heater questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by frohboy33 View Post
I am not going to mess with the existing sub panel.
I should call an electrician and get it properly taken out or replaced.

I have a feeling I'm going to have to pay for some upgrades to the main service and panel. This would be the proper thing to do.
Well, at least a new panel for breaker space.
Do you have gas (furnace, water heater, dryer, range) appliances?

Quote:
But we all know I'm just going to leave it as is
and forget about it unless someone convinces me its a hazard.
You're a grown up now. Homeowner and everything.
You know what you need to do.

Quote:
If I clear some room, what size breaker will I need for the 240V heaters? Is 14-2 wire ok?
2000W / 240V = 8.33Amps So yes, 14/2 15A will be plenty.
Still... if/when you pull wire pull 12/2.

But it's mid-February. The heating season will be over in a few weeks.
Let the baseboard work go until next fall and after the panel change is done.

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 02-12-2013 at 07:44 PM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 07:55 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Baseboard heater questions


Thank you to everyone. I know what should be done now. You're right I'll hold off on the baseboards until I've had some changes made.

One last question. Looking at the main panel again, I see that nothing is hooked up to the breaker labeled "dryer" This is a dual 30amp breaker.

The actual dryer is on the same circuit as the range. Shouldn't I switch the dryer over to the actual dryer circuit?

There are two circuits labeled range. One is a dual 40amp and the other is a dual 30amp. The dryer is connected to the dual 30amp range breaker.
frohboy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 08:04 PM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Baseboard heater questions


Not sure about the reliability of the bulldog pushmatic panels but I know their parts are expensive if you can even find them.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 08:05 PM   #22
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Baseboard heater questions


They aren't cheap, but they aren't very difficult to get. HD sells a select variety.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 08:07 PM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Baseboard heater questions


I would work towards updating to a brand panel that breakers are easily purchased locally and will be more reliable. Also may be easier if you later try to sell the home later. If you have enough you could benefit from just a panel change or maybe price a 200 amp upgrade.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 08:11 PM   #24
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Baseboard heater questions


After seeing the guts of the existing panel, I see no reason for a new panel. To know if the OP would benefit from a service upgrade, we would need to know the loads on the service. I assume 100A is just fine. If I was called in to figure out what was needed, I would suggest removing the two small subs, and install a 12 circuit sub off the existing open spaces in the panel.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 09:08 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Baseboard heater questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
After seeing the guts of the existing panel, I see no reason for a new panel. To know if the OP would benefit from a service upgrade, we would need to know the loads on the service. I assume 100A is just fine. If I was called in to figure out what was needed, I would suggest removing the two small subs, and install a 12 circuit sub off the existing open spaces in the panel.
Thanks for your thoughts. I see in the main panel there is dual 30amp breaker that isn't being used at all. Wondering why they didn't use that for the AC or install some singles for the dishwasher and get rid of some of the double tapping.

Last edited by frohboy33; 02-12-2013 at 09:12 PM.
frohboy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 01:01 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Baseboard heater questions


I bought a couple of tandem breakers and will be putting them into the main panel to get rid of some of the double tapping that I have on a lot of the 15amp circuits.

I will also be replacing the unused dual 30amp with a dual 15amp and run the heaters to that CB using 12-2 wire.

I think this might work after all.

frohboy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two plumbing questions: Water heater drain and expansion tank. TexasPenguin Plumbing 10 10-30-2012 01:35 PM
replacing baseboard heater under receptacle - doh! rkg Electrical 2 04-28-2012 12:49 AM
Removing baseboard heater in bathroom frankm1960 Electrical 4 11-25-2011 10:38 AM
Running lines to baseboard heater using Pex. RyanD Plumbing 5 07-05-2009 07:32 AM
Tankless water heater questions shadango Plumbing 8 11-12-2008 07:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.