Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2011, 06:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 188
Share |
Default

Base board heaters, thermostat, power


Hi, I replaced the baseboard heater in my downstairs computer room, and there was power to it. Then when I went to turn the thermostat on...no heat! So not being electrical 'savvy', I bought a new thermostat, and upon disconnecting the old thermostat, I touched the two wires from the back of the thermostat, with a 'reader', and there was no current! All other baseboard heaters in the downstairs area work, and this one also, as I checked it at another source,..What am I missing here?
Thanks
Syd

scoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:09 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Base board heaters, thermostat, power


How do you know it had power? Do you know if the heater is operating on 240 volts? Does the thermostat you mention control just this heater or does it control others as well?

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 188
Default

Base board heaters, thermostat, power


The 'test' lamp showed there was power to the heater. Yes 240 V, Yes only this one.
Thanks
Syd
scoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:48 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Base board heaters, thermostat, power


Your thermostat is a line voltage one correct? Does it have two wires or four wires and what color are they?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 08:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 188
Default

Base board heaters, thermostat, power


The lines that come out of the wall socket are both..black, and the ones on the thermostat, are red and black.
Syd
scoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 08:23 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Base board heaters, thermostat, power


You only have two wires coming from the wall?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 08:30 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 188
Default

Base board heaters, thermostat, power


Yes, just 2 black wires
scoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 08:44 PM   #8
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Base board heaters, thermostat, power


Is the thermostat mounted on the baseboard itself? If so, the two blacks from the wall go to the two reds on the thermostat and the two blacks on from the thermostat go to the two wires on the heater.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:16 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 188
Default

Base board heaters, thermostat, power


There are just 2 BLACK wires that come out of the wall where the 'original' thermostat was. This 'switch is about 30 feet away from the Baseboard heater!
As I stated earlier, I am having problems..'understanding' what you say!
Syd
No, the thermostat is not 'mounted' on the heater, it is on the wall
scoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:21 PM   #10
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Base board heaters, thermostat, power


Has this heater worked in the past?
Is this wiring run in conduit between the thermostat and the heater?

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Newly installed Thermostat doesn't power on falcon753 HVAC 17 10-28-2008 08:53 AM
Maximum base board loop length Mike Warner HVAC 1 04-30-2008 11:48 PM
Installing deck ledger board over foam board? RickT Building & Construction 5 11-06-2006 10:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.