Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2012, 06:25 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
Share |
Default

Bare grounding pigtails?


I'm daisy chaining quad outlets in metal boxes. Do the lengths from the wirenut to each outlet and ground screw need to be stripped bare or can I keep the insulation on them? Is this always the case, or are there sometimes where bare/insulated is required?

And related, there will be 5 wires into the grounding wirenut,is there any way around this, I don't like the idea of having so many wires on one wirenut. I do have the proper size for it. Is there any way to help this stay secure other than just wrapping with electrical tape?

smata67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 06:58 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,895
Default

Bare grounding pigtails?


The ground wire can be insulated as long as it is green. A properly installed wire nut does not need to be taped.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 07:27 AM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

Bare grounding pigtails?


Quote:
Originally Posted by smata67 View Post
I'm daisy chaining quad outlets in metal boxes. Do the lengths from the wirenut to each outlet and ground screw need to be stripped bare or can I keep the insulation on them? Is this always the case, or are there sometimes where bare/insulated is required?

And related, there will be 5 wires into the grounding wirenut,is there any way around this, I don't like the idea of having so many wires on one wirenut. I do have the proper size for it. Is there any way to help this stay secure other than just wrapping with electrical tape?

You could use ONE set of longer pigtails and hit both devices, instead of each device having its own pigtail.... and please don't tape wire nuts on, it means you either didn't install them properly or don't have the correct size wire nut.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (05-27-2012), oh'mike (05-27-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
Grounding sub-panel at pool house CraigMW Electrical 12 08-19-2011 10:08 AM
Wiring of bare copper wire in a light fixture Fleet_Foxes Electrical 5 07-16-2009 08:44 PM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 04:11 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.