Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-08-2012, 11:29 PM   #1

Share |

ballasts burned up all of a sudden!

Hi there, I have some 4 foot strip lights (2 t12 lamps each fixture) in my attic and have had them for about 8 years. About a month ago, ALL the fixtures except ONE burned the ballasts out. One fixture even smoked so bad and melted all that black stuff out of the ballast. So I bought a few replacement fixtures (cheaper than buying ballasts), and when plugged in, the fixture location that was melting the ballast did it again! I put my wiggy across hot and neut and have 110 volts, any ideas guys? By the way, I am an electrician myself, had 5 years apprenticeship and 14 years experience so im not reading the tester wrong or anything like that. Loose neutral maybe?

inthe9's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:09 AM   #2
custom user

I think you'll need more than a wiggens type meter, I believe that you need to check for resistance in the circuit.

JasperST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:02 AM   #3

How long (minutes? seconds?) did it taek for the ballast to burn up?

Observe the meter for several minutes as the light fixture is first turned on.

A loose neutral is a very strong possibility.
jbfan (10-09-2012), Missouri Bound (10-09-2012)
Old 10-09-2012, 08:16 AM   #4

Anything else in the house messing up?
What else is on that circut?
Any lights in the house acting weird, eg. burning brighter then dim when something else comes on?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 05:34 PM   #5

Ahh, why bother tracking down a loose neutral when you can just install some 120/277 ballasts and then have a cold one
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:24 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by ionized View Post