Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2009, 09:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Ballasts


Do you technically need to be a licensed electrician to change a ballast in a commercial setting? In MN?

mjj84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 10:55 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,743
Default

Ballasts


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjj84 View Post
Do you technically need to be a licensed electrician to change a ballast in a commercial setting? In MN?
Depends on the state and local regulations where you live.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 11:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Ballasts


Do you work there? If you do, change one. Turn off the switch or breaker first.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 07:32 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Ballasts


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjj84 View Post
Do you technically need to be a licensed electrician to change a ballast in a commercial setting? In MN?
the answer will say yes and no it depending on the local regulations and state regulations as well.

I know in State of Wisconsin typically say it must have electrician to do this unless you have qulified mantenace person on the premise { that can raise sore subject if not carefull }

In France it must be done by electrician { all areas }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 09:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

Ballasts


Every state I have worked in, if you own the property or have maintenance people you or they can do it, In some states there is no restrictions who can do it.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recessed lighting, dimmer, compact fluerecents...anything special? gone_fishing Electrical 2 01-04-2009 07:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.