A Bad Wire? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2011, 08:46 AM   #1
jzw
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

A bad wire?


All of a sudden, my kitchen lights and lights mounted on the outside of my house in the backyard stopped working. The breaker didn't trip. There's just no power. I wonder if it is because some wire comes lose behind the wall?

Advertisement

jzw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 08:58 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 588
Default

A bad wire?


Are there any GFCI's on this circuit that may have tripped?

You could have a bad connection. The circuit breaker may have failed as well. Are you comfortable working in the panel? Can you measure the voltage between the breaker and neutral?

Advertisement

AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AandPDan For This Useful Post:
J. V. (08-03-2011)
Old 08-03-2011, 12:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

A bad wire?


Dan is correct. Some dummy may have put these lights on a GFCI receptacle or breaker thinking it was required because its in a kitchen and outside. I bet it is GFCI related. I mean, I would actually bet money that's what it is.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
AandPDan (08-03-2011)
Old 08-03-2011, 01:30 PM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

A bad wire?


Wires generally won't come loose behind a wall. If it is a loose connection, it will be at a junction point, either at a light box or a switch box.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 02:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 10:16 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts