Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 11:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

bad outlet --doesn't trip breaker


I have an outlet that went out this morning..but did not trip the breaker. Turning breaker on/off does nothing. Plan to replace outlet..however we do not have grounds going to each outlet in this house. so when I reinstall new outlet what is proper procedure for ground wire in outlet ?

lynnralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 218
Default

bad outlet --doesn't trip breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by lynnralphie View Post
I have an outlet that went out this morning..but did not trip the breaker. Turning breaker on/off does nothing. Plan to replace outlet..however we do not have grounds going to each outlet in this house. so when I reinstall new outlet what is proper procedure for ground wire in outlet ?
If no ground wire is present, you need to replace the outlet with a GFCI or an ungrounded model.

sgip2000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:19 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,980
Default

bad outlet --doesn't trip breaker


If you have no ground you have 1 of these options

Use a 2 wire receptacle

Install a GFCI receptacle (marked "NO GRD")

Install a GFCI breaker and a 3 wire receptacle(marked "NO GRD")
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Testing outlet on AFCI breaker barley Electrical 11 10-24-2011 11:21 AM
Circuit Breaker trips when I plug into an outlet Alex in Orlando Electrical 3 09-05-2010 01:04 AM
Drilled through 12/3 and breaker didn't trip vseven Electrical 12 04-11-2010 11:03 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Replaced Outlet, but now tripping the circuit breaker bman598 Electrical 9 05-21-2009 07:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.